We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room and Super Location”
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Pike Road, AL
Level Contributor
287 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice Room and Super Location”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Boardwalk Inn is a great place to stay if you are in South Houston. It is right in the middle of all the action of Kemah, but our room was very quiet. The lobby is relaxing, there are plenty of very nice restaurants in walking distance, and the room was very comfortable. Each room has a balcony that overlooks the boardwalk - it is really too small to be comfortable (and it's way too hot anyway) but we enjoyed standing out on it, looking around, and taking some pictures.

The property is probably 15 or so years old, but we didn't notice any signs of wear. The decor is tasteful and everything smelled clean. There was at least one wedding at the Inn and we didn't even notice. Only negative comment of our one-night-stay is the pool was crowded, even at the 10pm closing time. Lots of kids and they ran out of pool towels. I guess that is to be expected in the summer. We stayed here on a Sunday night. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms face north - we were on the 3rd floor - higher is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldendiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel, sounds like you and your family have a great time sampling all the fun on the Boardwalk. Come back and see us again soon, lots of great events during our fall months.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    124
    62
    33
    28
See reviews for
211
215
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilchrist, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My friend & I spent the night during the 'Rock the Dock' concert series. It was great to relax on the balcony overlooking the venue!!! Bed was comfortable & bathroom was fine. We were on the floor where the pool was located and there was soggy carpet in the hallway, but it did not affect our stay.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Great to hear you and your family enjoyed the Rock The Dock music venue that was performing on the evening you stayed with us! we have made some venue changes this year and happy to hear we are on the right track!
Come back and visit us soon.


Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice, clean and pretty comfy. A little too much light coming through the blinds especially in the morning but I covered it up with a blanket. Great food lots of rides games and restaurants! If you play games make sure to bring plenty money it goes quick but the kids had fun! Food was pricey too, but most vacation spots are anyway. The beds were okay not the most comfortable but it was okay. The staff was very nice and helpful! Overall it was fun for the kids! Pool was ver small, didn't spend much time there. Galveston was 30 minutes away and so was Houston, so we did that too. Music was great at night! Balcony was small but had a good view.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rfoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, sounds like the kids have a terrific time, its always alot of fun here during the summer. Regarding the blinds and "Too Much" light, we agree! The hotel is in the process of retro fitting all our guest rooms with window and balcony door plantation shutters. We have about 50% completed on this project and we hope to have the entire hotel completed by October. We recongnize that this has been a concern with our guests and we have selected some great shutters and hope that this will resolve the "Too Much " light filtering through. Our goal is to provide genuine care and comfort to all our guests and we do take reviews and comments to heart and make every effort to resolve. We hope you will come back soon and hope to hear your feed back on our new window coverings.

Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed one night and had a great time on the boardwalk. Hotel is very nice however the room we were in was directly across from the service area used by housekeeping and room service. It was extremely noisy with staff in out and I was not happy about having to look at the housekeeping carts stationed outside our room ALL DAY. We have not had this experience at any other hotel. We were also awakened at the next morning at 7am by the housekeeping staff starting their day. Nice place to stay but too much to pay for the noise when you are looking to spend a nice, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we apologize for the noise inconvienience during your stay, as you are corect our Housekeeping service area is directly across from the room you stated. None the less it is not an excuse for us to work at finding a method of entry to this area without making undue noise as we recognice this will effect the comfort of our guests in this immediate area.Our Housekeeping Director has made some changes with her staff and methods of entry in and out of this area and we are hopefull that this will minimize the noise. We hope you and your family will allow us another opportunity in the near future.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The Boardwalk Inn has these perfect little condos about 4 blocks away from the boardwalk itself. We stayed in a 2 bedroom (3 beds) 2 bath that slept 6 people. It was for the night before my friends wedding since she was getting married in Kemah. The condo was perfect for us girls and gave us plenty of room. Even the couch was comfy enough for someone to sleep on. I think these would be perfect for families and groups who need that little extra space or are staying for a few days. I would recommend car pooling due to them only allowing 2 cars per reservation at the condos. They also gave us a pass for the parking garage since we had another vehicle.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lroehr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Off-Site condos, we agree they are a great option for families and they are just a few blocks away , but close enough to walk to our property. We are so thrilled you and your family experienced these accomodations.
Come back and visit us soon.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed 1 night to enjoy Kemah fireworks on July 4th without having to fight traffic. I accepted the higher price for the holiday, but I expected a far better quality room for the type of hotel it is and for the rate ($500 for the night). Architecture (inside and out) was very nice, and the staff - from the car park attendant to the reception desk to housekeeping - were completely charming and helpful. But the double-bed room for 4 adults had two full-sized (not queen) beds that made for very poor sleeping. The bath was quite clean, but clearly older (broken ring on tub drain, gaps in grout, blow drier with melted plastic housing). We booked just a few weeks before the holiday so maybe we got the 'leftovers' in rooms, but I will not be going back anytime soon.

Room Tip: Other reviewers have had good experiences so maybe we just got an older room that was awaiting renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drzelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, areas in which we failed have been noted and reviewed with department heads, ie; Housekeeping Director and Maintenance Supervisor. We apologize for those areas we failed, we will focus on improvements and insure we are providing the upmost quality in our guest rooms. I would like to reach out to you and your family and speak to you personally, please feel free to contact me.
Look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards and Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our first stay at Boardwalk Inn. It was the 4th of July weekend. Before writing, I read Texasrumrunner's review. We had a totally different experience! We are Landry Select club member's also, for 2 night's it was $750.86 (Including tax). Our room faced the plaza. Super clean rooms. We requested a refrigerator a few days before, there was no charge. We had 3 rooms reserved and we ALL totally enjoyed it! We enjoyed it so much, that we have planned it for the ENTIRE family next 4th of July. When mentioning our plans to the front desk, Tina was more than happy to mention the suites available and went out of her way to show us one on Sunday before our departure. Everyone was so polite and helpful! Also, Richard the bellman . . . He is a gem! The view was great, bands were great, the food great! We would suggest the Boardwalk Inn to anyone and everyone! GREAT JOB BOARDWALK STAFF! And a special thanks to Tina for making it such a nice stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza are noisy because of the bands. If you love music as we do, you are in the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and our five diamond service staff, we are truly excited about your recent stay with us and it sounds like the entire family had a terrific time!
We will share your comments about some of our key staff with our entire team, they will be so excited about the recognition. We will be excited to see you and your family again in the near future.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Seabrook Suites
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Palace Inn Kemah
#4 of 5 in Kemah
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Boardwalk Inn, situated on the Kemah Boardwalk in Kemah, Texas, overlooking beautiful Galveston Bay. Each of our 48 deluxe guest rooms and 4 master suites feature Gulf Coast architecture, offering the feel of a seaside retreat with yellow walls and crisp trim, enhanced by nautical artwork and oversized bathrooms. We offer various views of the Kemah Boardwalk waterfront and Galveston Bay water channel, with the most-requested hotel rooms overlooking our entertainment stage and dancing water fountains. Each room in the hotel includes a private balcony, flat screen television and wireless high speed Internet access and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing