We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Condos perfect for groups!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Condos perfect for groups!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The Boardwalk Inn has these perfect little condos about 4 blocks away from the boardwalk itself. We stayed in a 2 bedroom (3 beds) 2 bath that slept 6 people. It was for the night before my friends wedding since she was getting married in Kemah. The condo was perfect for us girls and gave us plenty of room. Even the couch was comfy enough for someone to sleep on. I think these would be perfect for families and groups who need that little extra space or are staying for a few days. I would recommend car pooling due to them only allowing 2 cars per reservation at the condos. They also gave us a pass for the parking garage since we had another vehicle.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lroehr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Off-Site condos, we agree they are a great option for families and they are just a few blocks away , but close enough to walk to our property. We are so thrilled you and your family experienced these accomodations.
Come back and visit us soon.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    109
    53
    30
    24
See reviews for
193
182
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed 1 night to enjoy Kemah fireworks on July 4th without having to fight traffic. I accepted the higher price for the holiday, but I expected a far better quality room for the type of hotel it is and for the rate ($500 for the night). Architecture (inside and out) was very nice, and the staff - from the car park attendant to the reception desk to housekeeping - were completely charming and helpful. But the double-bed room for 4 adults had two full-sized (not queen) beds that made for very poor sleeping. The bath was quite clean, but clearly older (broken ring on tub drain, gaps in grout, blow drier with melted plastic housing). We booked just a few weeks before the holiday so maybe we got the 'leftovers' in rooms, but I will not be going back anytime soon.

Room Tip: Other reviewers have had good experiences so maybe we just got an older room that was awaiting renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drzelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, areas in which we failed have been noted and reviewed with department heads, ie; Housekeeping Director and Maintenance Supervisor. We apologize for those areas we failed, we will focus on improvements and insure we are providing the upmost quality in our guest rooms. I would like to reach out to you and your family and speak to you personally, please feel free to contact me.
Look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards and Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our first stay at Boardwalk Inn. It was the 4th of July weekend. Before writing, I read Texasrumrunner's review. We had a totally different experience! We are Landry Select club member's also, for 2 night's it was $750.86 (Including tax). Our room faced the plaza. Super clean rooms. We requested a refrigerator a few days before, there was no charge. We had 3 rooms reserved and we ALL totally enjoyed it! We enjoyed it so much, that we have planned it for the ENTIRE family next 4th of July. When mentioning our plans to the front desk, Tina was more than happy to mention the suites available and went out of her way to show us one on Sunday before our departure. Everyone was so polite and helpful! Also, Richard the bellman . . . He is a gem! The view was great, bands were great, the food great! We would suggest the Boardwalk Inn to anyone and everyone! GREAT JOB BOARDWALK STAFF! And a special thanks to Tina for making it such a nice stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza are noisy because of the bands. If you love music as we do, you are in the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and our five diamond service staff, we are truly excited about your recent stay with us and it sounds like the entire family had a terrific time!
We will share your comments about some of our key staff with our entire team, they will be so excited about the recognition. We will be excited to see you and your family again in the near future.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has one of the most beautiful views. The live bands were so romantic and entertaining while looking over the balcony. Always something to do on the boardwalk. Wonderful restraunts within steps of the hotel. Recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area. Location of kemah within 30 to 1 hour (depending on traffic) to galveston and houston. Staff at this hotel went above and beyond. Thank u so much boardwalk inn. Hope to be back soon

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank your for your great review of our property! we are thrilled you and your family enjoyed our hotel . We take pride in our wonderful staff, they truly enjoy taking care of every guest and making their stay a memorable one. Come back and see us agin soon, whenever your travels bring you and your family to Kemah.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The service was wonderful, rooms were clean and the view was spectacular. The Thursday and Friday night bands were great. I loved the decor in the rooms. The only thing I would add to the suite would be a garden tub. Will be staying here next time I visit Kemah!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your terrific review of our property! sounds like you and your family enjoyed our beautiful suites , they truely are fabulous! We have made some changes in our music line up this year and we are so happy you enjoyed the music venues that were performing on the evening you and your family were here. We will share your review with all our wonderful staff!
Come back and stay with us soon.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Let me first start off by saying that I am a Landry's Select club member and we LOVE many of the restaurants. Also the hotel staff was great BUT. We stayed for the 4th of July. The price for one night was just a hair under $500. We get to the room - the TV doesn't work, the rooms don't have refrigerators, the wallpaper is peeling off the walls, and the beds are uncomfortable. We decide to go swimming - the rooftop pool need completely redone - it feels like you are going to put your foot through the stairs when you step on them. THEN we go out to watch the fireworks and that was a fiasco - I took my wife and my 3 yr old son. Everyone just push and ran into us while we stood by railing to watch the fireworks....SO we love Kemah - but don't stay at the Boardwalk Inn. It is WAY overpriced. You can stay at a B&B down the road for probably 1/5 the price and have a much better experience. AND if you go to watch fireworks there - charter a boat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasrumrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and typically we get very positive reviews on our service and Hotel product but your comments are noted and will be shared with the appropriate Departments. We hope that you will give us another opportunity whenever your travels bring you and you family to the Kemah area.

Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is our 4th stay in the last three years. Grandchildren love it. Hotel is very clean, employees are very friendly, rooms are big, and location is fantastic. We always stay in room with balcony overlooking the fountain and the band. Children enjoy listening to band and dancing on balcony. The whole facility is kept very clean, so much so, that by 7:00 am you can hear sweepers, power washers and vacuum cleaners. After making all that noise, we get a call in the room at 11:00 am that we're making too much noise - so much for being kid friendly. Other than that, we had super time, great fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha2242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit, we certainly appreciate the continued support and return visits time and time again, we love hearing that we have happy guests! Glad the kids had a blast!
until next time, lots of great events throughout the summer.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Houston NASA/Clear Lake
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston NASA/Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Boardwalk Inn, situated on the Kemah Boardwalk in Kemah, Texas, overlooking beautiful Galveston Bay. Each of our 48 deluxe guest rooms and 4 master suites feature Gulf Coast architecture, offering the feel of a seaside retreat with yellow walls and crisp trim, enhanced by nautical artwork and oversized bathrooms. We offer various views of the Kemah Boardwalk waterfront and Galveston Bay water channel, with the most-requested hotel rooms overlooking our entertainment stage and dancing water fountains. Each room in the hotel includes a private balcony, flat screen television and wireless high speed Internet access and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing