We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, great staff!”
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Very relaxing, great staff!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Traveled to Sugarland on business and decided to extend the travel to Kemah. I booked online with no issues. We needed a late check in and had no problems there, even though it was nearly midnight before we arrived. The lady at the desk couldn't have been nicer which is not always the case at other hotels when checking in so late. When we arrived in the room the a/c was already turned on for us and there were three bags of Skittles on the night stand. (I was goofing around when I made the reservation talking of how important I was and that I required exactly three bags of Skittles). I was shocked because I'd completely forgotten about that bit. Throughout the stay the staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the area. There is plenty to do on the boardwalk, much of it aimed at kids. Be sure to feed the stingrays at the aquarium!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liebersdad .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Property & Staff, we are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. We hope you will make our property your hotel of choice whenever your travels bring you to the Kemah area.


Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    122
    61
    33
    26
See reviews for
206
212
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hello I spent 4 nights in this hotel which is nice but the people at the desk are not friendly enough ! I called them before I came to organise a shuttle from the airport they did not !!! I had to catch a taxi which cost me 120$ one way !!!! I also asked someone at the desk to help me and give me advise to go and visit the nasa center... One more time I did not recieved the help
I was waiting for.... If you come to kemah you should defenitely rent a car or call Al Austin whom is taxi driver very nice person ! Mrs Mary Fintch at the desk is for sure the nicest from this hotel !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Defi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for you review of our property on your recent visit. We are reviewing areas of improvement with all of our staff and we are committed to providing the best service and product on a consistent basis.


Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California, United States
Level Contributor
246 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We decided to check out Kemah the night before leaving for a cruise and found the Boardwalk Inn at the suggestion of a local travel agency. Very nice room for the money and we took advantage of purchasing a "Landry's" card at one of the restaurants on the property which saved us an extra 10% on the room rate. Lucky us! It was crawfish night with live music in the common area and everyone was having a wonderful time dancing, singing and eating delicious food. The whole area was alive and vibrant and we wandered around taking in the sites. We rode the skytower and The Beast high speed boat, none of us were brave enough for the roller coaster. There is tons of food and drink right outside the hotel, and even a Starbucks just a short walk away. I wish we'd had another day to explore but we will do that next time.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the little railroad track and live music area can get a little noisy until 10pm w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 556danaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property and great to hear we have been discovered as a great place for a pre or post Cruise stay whenever guests are departing from the nearby Bay Port Cruise terminal, it truly is a fun atmosphere. We are happy you and your family enjoyed.
Come back and see us soon.

Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had to go to Houston so we decided to extend our stay and visit Kemah Boardwalk. The Boardwalk Inn is right on the boardwalk and all rooms face the boardwalk/ bay. The room we stayed in was a premium plaza king for two adults. The Inn is pleasant and nautically appointed. The room, grounds, and hallways are spacious and kept well. Somewhere between Fancy and plain. Our room had a private balcony that was small -two people only. The bath was spacious compared to others I have stayed inn. The wifi worked but logged you out very quickly if not in use. Would not allow my iphone 5s to store password and auto log in like other hotels. There are a few important items that Is hinted to in there advertising. The entire Kemah Boardwalk complex is owned by the Landry group/family. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. They do not allow coolers in the room. There was no coke/ food machines in the hotel. Only ice makers on each floor. If you don't bring any snacks with you you will have to BUY It From Them and it is not cheap. There is no breakfast in the hotel but there are other restaurants close by that are also owned by the same people. You pay for everything you consume there are no freebies and no bargains except for happy hour at the bars.We went on most of the rides and ate at several of the restaurtants. The food was adequate but not outstanding (no competition as Landry owns everything) Our second morning at 6:30 am we were awakened by a gas engine driven power washer cleaning outside our room (we were on the highest floor) There is a train that circles through the complex and is fun to ride on. But after hearing it blow its very loud whistle at every cross walk all day long (up until 9:00 pm) the "cute train" is not so cute anymore. The smallish tv is one more thing that says we want you to stay here but not in the room for very long. (ie go out and spend money0 Our overall opinion after two nights and days at the Kemah Boardwalk Inn and complex is that it is fun for family and kids for a short one time visit. I'm not cheap but I do believe in getting what I pay for and I feel overcharged. So Bring plenty of money and smuggle a cooler in like we did.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srhodes1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property and the Kemah Boardwalk surroundings.
We will be sharing your feed back with the appropriate departments and reviewing opportunities for improvement.
We hope you and your family will visit soon.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Boardwalk Inn, was very clean, and smelled nice. The rooms were nice, clean, roomy, and in a Great location. All the help was courteous, friendly, and very helpful. Our ONLY concern was the "limited" amount of TV channels. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappy2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for you recent review of our property. Its great to hear you and your family enjoyed all we have to offer. We will certainly share your kind remarks with all our Staff.
Come back and see us again.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellston, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Boardwalk Inn. We would highly recommend this hotel for couples or families. The staff was very helpful and courteous! The motel was nice and clean! There are a lot of things to do at the Boardwalk! There is an amusement park, restaurants, little shops, and boat rides. Everything is within walking distance and it felt very family friendly and safe! We will be going back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank randysgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and the Kemah Boardwalk, sounds like you and your family truly enjoyed all that we have to offer.
Come back and see us soon when ever your travels bring you to Kemah.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
227 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn for 1 night. Everyone we talked to that worked there was very friendly & helpful. They gave us extra coffee when we checked in & there was a refrigerator in our room which we requested when the reservation was made. We appreciated the free Wifi & free parking.

The room was spacious & we had a view of the bay. The king bed was comfortable & the orange toiletries were very nice. The hotel is right in the heart of the Kemah boardwalk. Because of that, we could hear the band & the train whistle until 10 - 11 PM. The A/C unit in the room is noisy & tends to overcool the area near the air conditioner.

Room Tip: As far away from the noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMSCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we appreciate your comments and will share with our entire staff. Come back and visit soon!


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Houston NASA/Clear Lake
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Palace Inn Kemah
#4 of 5 in Kemah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Boardwalk Inn, situated on the Kemah Boardwalk in Kemah, Texas, overlooking beautiful Galveston Bay. Each of our 48 deluxe guest rooms and 4 master suites feature Gulf Coast architecture, offering the feel of a seaside retreat with yellow walls and crisp trim, enhanced by nautical artwork and oversized bathrooms. We offer various views of the Kemah Boardwalk waterfront and Galveston Bay water channel, with the most-requested hotel rooms overlooking our entertainment stage and dancing water fountains. Each room in the hotel includes a private balcony, flat screen television and wireless high speed Internet access and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing