We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
“Excellent getaway”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I live in town and decided to spend a day at Kemah with my niece's daughter and we enjoyed our stay. I was able to get one of the suites facing the plaza center on a Thursday night and enjoyed the rock the dock concert. Had dinner at a restaurant on the boardwalk and then went swimming in the wonderful clean pool. The staff was very friendly. I stayed at this hotel last year and enjoyed my stay. I will continue to do this every summer. It would be nice if the suites had a microwave. We had leftovers from the restaurant, but were not able to warm up when we got hungry later.

Room Tip: The suites are excellent!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay. Consequently, our suites have had upgrades in the last few weeks and there are still a few items we will complete in them in the next week, we hope you will come again and experience these great rooms. We are reviewing the request for microwaves with our team and will continue to look at this possibility for future consideration.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    119
    60
    33
    25
See reviews for
202
206
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay for a night at the Kemah Boardwalk Inn to see what it is like, we live in the area and we always go to Kemah but we have never stayed at the hotel. I must admit we were disappointed by the rooms. The rooms themselves were huge but the coffee pot was just thrown on the desk in the corner, there is ample room in these rooms so there should have been a little butlers area to allow for more space. The staff was just ok, and for the price we paid we would have thought that the service would have been better. When we told the front desk about our issues with the room they just set please put your comments on trip advisor....kind of a weird response....oh and they offered us 2 free appetizers but they had to be the chef choice at any of the restaurants in kemah...all in all I would say it is not worth the money you would spend....its a great location and the rooms are huge but we have gotten more from hotels that we have paid less to stay at....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel and your recent stay with us. Your comments are being reviewed with our team to insure we are providing excellent service to our guest each and every time.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Unless you plan on spending the weekend I would not recommend it. We were guaranteed a suite w/ a king bed overlooking the water. Ended up with 2 double beds overlooking a roof. The shower had mold and the dresser drawers were broken. There is NO room service. Tiny tv..... just not worth what they charge. And the pool is small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeariley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of your most recent stay at our Hotel. We have researched the issue of the suite and we do not sell our suites on Expedia your reservation was booked through Expedia. We did however find that we placed you in a Double bedded guest room verses a King and we apologize for this inconvenience, thus we extended a comparable offer and you accepted. Regarding the issues of Housekeeping and Maintenance we have thoroughly discussed with both teams and they are making improvements in both their areas. We hope you and your family will give us another opportunity in the future whenever your travels bring you to the Kemah area.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena-General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

With two kids, it is sometimes hard to get away. But, thanks to grandparents, we were able to get away overnight to the Kemah Boardwalk Inn for our 20th Anniversary. We had a great time! Helpful staff. Clean facilities and rooms. Balcony with view of the boardwalk and bay. Priority seating at the great restaurants. Not much to do except walk around, have fun, and enjoy each other's company.

If you can't get away far, this is a great overnight destination from Houston. Although we were only 25 minutes from home, it felt like another world.

I would recommend staying during the middle of the week when not much is on the schedule if you want a nice quiet stay like we did. If you want the hustle and bustle of a busy boardwalk, then you can schedule during some events (concerts, rallies, etc.)

Although we did not use it, the pool is also well-maintained and very clean.

Two small items keep me from giving an excellent rating: 1) if you have one of the rooms that has a pass-through door to the room next door, you can hear some of what is going on next door if the guests there are loud. 2) even though we were granted a late check out, they kept checking to see if we were ready to check out. (I think they forgot to note our late check-out in the computer.)

Regardless, I would love to return. You should try it out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Congratulations on your Anniversary! Great to hear we were a part of your celebration, we thank you for your feed back and will work on the suggestions with our team.
We hope you and your family will make our Hotel and the Kemah Boardwalk part of an annual tradition.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We only spent one night here but are sorry we could not stay longer. The hotel is right on the boardwalk and very central to all the entertainment sector. The staff were very friendly. Undercover parking is at the door and the wi-fi worked well in our room. The only thing we would suggest would be to have a refrigerator in the room. As we said we not spent one night here because we wasted two nights in Galveston. We would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! Happy to hear you truly enjoyed your short visit, hope that future visits to our hotel will be longer. Regarding the frig, we will review with our design staff for future consideration.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the minute we walked in to the room & looked out to the balcony, we didn't think it could get much better! The view was amazing, the room was very clean & spacious, & the staff was extremely friendly & helpful. I had planned a vacation for my boyfriend's birthday & was pleasantly surprised that I got MORE than my moneys worth in my opinion! The location is extremely convenient, we walked out of the hotel on to the Kemah boardwalk. All of the staff was very polite, & the lady who helped us throughout our stay, Lauren, was extremely helpful & accommodating. We were both very impressed with our stay here & will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the center of the building & on the 2nd floor have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
On behalf of our staff and myself, we would like to truly thank you for a great review of our property and our staff, we take a great deal of pride in providing a great product in our area and your comments help us to showcase our hotel and all the wonderful areas on the Boardwalk we have to offer.
Please come back and visit soon, great events all summer long!


Best Regards,
Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We've stayed here several times and always had a wonderful experience. This is one of our kids' favorite places to come, cannot beat the location-- right in the middle of the boardwalk action. Also we love the rooftop pool, super clean and beautiful. The service is always great but this time Tina at the front desk really went the extra mile helping our big family with whatever we needed! And Richard the bellman happily walked us and all our bags down to the parking lot to our car which was too big to fit in the parking deck. There's a lot to love about this hotel but this kind of service is the very best thing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachReader5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay . I appreciate hearing your positive observations . I agree 100% with your assessment of our employees and will be sure to pass on your compliments regarding the exemplary service you received. We pride ourselves in providing a five diamond service experience and its great to hear you and your family were so pleased with our staff and our property.
Come back and visit again whenever your travels bring you to Kemah.

Best Regards,
Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Houston NASA/Clear Lake
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Palace Inn Kemah
#4 of 5 in Kemah
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Boardwalk Inn, situated on the Kemah Boardwalk in Kemah, Texas, overlooking beautiful Galveston Bay. Each of our 48 deluxe guest rooms and 4 master suites feature Gulf Coast architecture, offering the feel of a seaside retreat with yellow walls and crisp trim, enhanced by nautical artwork and oversized bathrooms. We offer various views of the Kemah Boardwalk waterfront and Galveston Bay water channel, with the most-requested hotel rooms overlooking our entertainment stage and dancing water fountains. Each room in the hotel includes a private balcony, flat screen television and wireless high speed Internet access and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing