We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Very Good!”
Review of Cafe Del Sol

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Del Sol
Ranked #258 of 540 Restaurants in Katy
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not Very Good!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family and I decided to stop and eat here on a whim! We live in Katy and love to support our community by shopping in locally owned stores and eateries. What a mistake this was. When we walked in, there was no one else in the place, this should have been a clue. After our orders were placed, a woman came out of the kitchen with an infant in a carrier and a toddler. They sat at one of the tables for a while and then went back into the kitchen. I'm sure that's against health code. The food itself was not very flavorful. We will not be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michelednlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

my family and i went to the new cafe del sol and we were beyond disaapointed. If i had the chance to go back in time, i would chose to tell myself not to eat here. The other reviews on this place are crazy. There is absolutely no way i would go back, even if my food was absolutely free!! The best thing here was the chips (not because they were good but because it was complementary).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank santi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Have been there many times over the last few years. The food is wonderful. The service is good and friendly. I called it the "hole in the wall" while it was it was in the old location. The new location is nice but we miss the outside deck at the old place. My favorites are the enchiladas verde and any of the tortas. Love the flan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great family dining!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My mother in-law describes this restaurant as dining in a Mexican family's home. Boy, is she right! We really felt like we were family when we ate here. The food was fabulous, and the service was equally great. We ordered two combo platters, soup, tacos, appetizers, and dessert. Every single thing was wonderful. And the staff encouraged us to come back to "visit." We certainly will. There's even a playground outside for anyone with small-ish children.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_BP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“TexMex treat!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Popular spot with the locals, not on the beaten path. When you go there, you are family! Very casual atmosphere, play area for the kids, ample parking and patio dining. This is Tex Mex food the way it was meant to be experienced, not in some giant chain restaurant where you wait an hour plus for a table. Family owned and operated, service is warm and friendly. Love their salsas, you get both green and red with your chips. Everything is freshly made. Can't miss with the fajitas Del Sol or any of the enchilada dishes, good luck narrowing it down! My personal favorites are the enchiladas Rosa and the green enchiladas. You can order anything on the menu the way you like it, they are open to please you. If you go, tell them Jack sent you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TXCtrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Sol also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing