We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Indian cusine”
Review of Mantra Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mantra Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Indian cusine”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The ambiance and food are average. The service is usually good. Very bad explanations of the offerings to customers not familiar with Indian food. "just try it" is not a description of what you are ordering. Fair size portions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrTurtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mexican goes INdian”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mexican decorated restaurant serves up some pretty good INdian fare. Try the fresh fish specials.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank texanchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
223 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Indian in Katy”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and me visit Mantra once or twice a month. We really enjoy good Indian food and this is one of the only Indian restaurants we have found in the Katy area. The décor is not great and is looking a bit tired, but the service is good and the food tastes great. We have sampled a lot of the dishes with no complaints. If you like curry I would recommend you try Mantra.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GightRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice Indian restaurant in the locality. They mostly serve buffets with three varieties of non-veg and veg dishes each with rice, indian breads etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aswin_Buddhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“terrible”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

dirty tables, dirty linen, cold food, tasteless. Expensive Buffet. What else can I say about a really bad experience? Tandoori chicken tasted as if it were left over from the day before.
Saag paneer tasted as if the paneer was soured already. Raita was too sour almost like eating vinegar. Food was very cool, not at all hot. I will not go back and am sorry to have suggested it to my friend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pam_of_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantra Indian Restaurant also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing