We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #35 of 529 Restaurants in Katy
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tired!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been to this Rainforest Cafe many times and every time we go it seems to be a little more run down and 'tired'. The servers are always very helpful and the food is generally OK, but this last time we visited the dry ice they use made us cough and we all agreed the place needed a thorough clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KOL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    45
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but fun for kids.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Little kids (under 12 or so) love the animals and the sound effects. They don't yet have a grasp of the fact the $16 for an only average salad / chicken finger plate / burger or whatever isn't a great value. But the atmosphere is fun.

Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
220 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OK For Kids Not So Good For Adults”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Atmosphere is very good for children 5 to 12. Place very noisy, food not so good, ok for children but not much for adults. Everything is overpriced and poor quality. Children like this place and it is the only reason one would go. Every child should visit this place once. Other than to take your children or grandchildren, why would one visit this place. Not a place mature couples would want to go and enjoy a niece quite dining experience. Also not a place for good food at reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank desfwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been to Katy Mills in years so we decided to check it out and decided on Rainforest Cafe for lunch. We've been to these many of times and this location didn't dissapoint. Awesome atmosphere for the kids especially and adults. Great gift shop for the kiddos. The food is above average and the service was just fine. We had a watress that was on the job for just her third day, but she did very well in taking care of our needs. Wait time for the food seemed a lil long considering they wasn't very busy, bit it was no big deal since we were just chatting and taking in the views and atmosphere. Overall It was a great experience and would return again. Good job Landrys!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great ambiance for kids and grownups who are still kids!! Always good food. We sat in the bar area and had lunch. It was great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank flysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing