We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not the same! Pet the dog and then go behind the counter, no way!”
Review of Red Oak Grill

Red Oak Grill
Ranked #216 of 549 Restaurants in Katy
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its not the same! Pet the dog and then go behind the counter, no way!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

So tonight we gave Red Oak a try, it has been months since we have eaten here. I must agree with others that it has changed. The chicken plate was terribly sad. While the chicken was tasty the hummus was not very good. There are better places just around the corner. The cost of the plate did not merit what we received. And the dog! There were a couple of staff members that were outside petting the dog and then came straight in to take orders and hangout behind the counter. Not what I wanted to see. Don't care to return. Loved it in the past, but not anymore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnythingsFeazable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Family run Restaraunt in Katy”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Everything at Red Oak is good but i Would recommend the Gyro Plate. It comes with 2 Pitas,the meat, taboueleh, and hummus. You wont leave here hungry. The family that runs the place is very nice and the mom makes all the food. The place is great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Who stole my Red Oak?”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Who stole my Red Oak? It was just here and now it’s gone. The place is still there. The people are still there. The crowd is gone and so are we. Red Oak Grill used to be a favorite stop for us at least once each week but lately something has changed. The food is just not quite as good as it once was and the service has fallen off a bit.

We convinced our daughter and her family to join us there tonight because the sign says kids eat free on Mondays with the purchase of an adult entrée. Unfortunately, the Red Oak manager no longer believes his own advertising and refused to honor the deal. It is just as well because the kids, who are known to eat anything put in front of them, refused to eat their meals because it didn’t taste good. One look at what was supposed to be mashed potatoes and I could not disagree with them. The mashed potatoes looked like they were made a week ago because of the gray-brown outer layer that resisted the penetration of a fork.

If you find my Red Oak, please return it to where it belongs. We will not be going back before then.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank timdenchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast and was so impressed by the menu. It was obvious that the chef took great pride in preparing our plates. The restaurant was clean and had lots of nice touches. There are so many choices on the menu that you are sure to find something you like. We are already planning to try The Red Oak Grill for dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood dining!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

"Red Oak" is the kind of neighborhood restaurant you can go to often. Their menu has enough variety to not be bored going back regularly. The staff are always friendly and the food always of excellent quality. We always see local folks we know and this sort of community feel is encouraged by their regular wine tastings and parties.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Oak Grill also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Red Oak Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing