We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite!!!!”
Review of Midway Barbeque

Midway Barbeque
Ranked #10 of 542 Restaurants in Katy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite!!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I make Midway Bar-B-Q a destination trip. Lucky me I only live ~11 miles from Old Katy. Also stop off at the Midway Groceries and hand over your dull knives to the butcher. Give 'em $10 and your knives - two days later pick up super sharp knives and.....pick up another google from Midway Bar-B-Q! Multi-tasking at its best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waynegoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Katy BBQ!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Midway BBQ is the place to find real Texas BBQ. It is best to visit during prime meal times to get the best they have to offer, and you will be dining with the regulars who give this place a small town, neighborhood feel. The new, purpose built location gives it a bit of a franchise feel, but the numerous stuffed animals keeps that true Texan meat lovers feel. Don't be surprised if they throw in some extra goodies when you are gathering a large take out order - they know once you try any of their different products you will be back for more!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarpetAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We got the family pack for $41.99. it said it would feed about 3-4 people. We ended up feeding about 7 people with some left over. It came with sausage, brisket, and ribs. It was so good, you found yourself unable to stop eating no matter how full you were. Definitely a must see, and enjoy all of the taxidermy. My daughter got to touch a mammoth. Who does that?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I really enjoyed my BBQ chicken. I wasn't overly impressed with the sides. The ambiance is nice and you get a real local vibe from the place. When we went there were a lot of large groups and families. Will definitely gives this place another try in the near future.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimmiebeetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food - Grumpy guy behind the register”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place could be legendary if the older guy behind the register would go to a customer service seminar class...
The food quality was good. The facility was clean and has personality.
The staff was friendly up to the point when I pulled the tray over to the register.
No smile, no greeting, no "Thank You", NOTHING.
I thought it might have been just a bad moment so I went back the next day (twice) - same result.

The Houston are has LOTS of BBQ places. NONE of them have food good enough to justify snubbing a paying customer.
Take a hint guys, learn the smile.and be friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midway Barbeque also viewed

 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Midway Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing