We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like New, not bad for a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Katy
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I will confess I'm a traditional 4 or 5 star hotel fan. I expected to be miserable and it really wasn't bad at all. I had a budget and used Hotwire for the booking. ($75 per night) This hotel is on the very edge of the Energy Corridor. (bad location in my opinion, but that's a Hotwire issue)

It seemed to be in brand new condition, and appeared very clean everywhere. My room was nice enough and was pretty spacious. I found the desk area and internet to work out nicely. The beds had a pillow top and were ok - not great, but not bad. The room did smell of smoke by the doorway, but once inside I didn't notice.

Hotel does sit on the highway, although seemed quiet. There is a barbecue restaurant in the lot that was fast casual, not bad.

Room Tip: Choose the non-highway side, quiet as can be!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexs6633, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

thanks for your input and we now have fixed our problem on the forth floor it no longer has the smoking issues we called professionals n the fixed the problem by placing smoke extractors in the hallway n air filter system. if you are back in town try us again.

nick patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

I got a reservation with Hotwire, that send me to Holiday inn, whose impress was very good so far. But Gaby, counter, made me changed of good impress to worst.

When I checked in, everything was fine, but when I got in I smelled like smoking.
So I called Gaby and asked if this is smoking room because I was with my family, wife and 2 kids. She held me for minutes, then we came down to the counter because no one is smoking in my family, we could not stay with bad smell.

She said no other room is available, but sweet room, that is more expensive and I have to pay extra, or I need to contact Hotwire.
So I said, she never asked me if I prefer smoking room or not. Hotwire never ask me to choose smoking or non smoking, but counter should do while check in.
And said this is the Holiday inn’s problem, not mine, neither Hotwire because reservation should be blocked if nonsmoking is no more available.

She said sorry, but I have two choices, stay a night in smoking room or pay extra for sweet room, and didn’t give me manager’s contact # because it is too late, it was almost 10pm.
Yes, that’s true, it was too late for my kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harrison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Harrison P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you had with your room accommodations. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This newly built Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful; the rooms were nicely done and very comfortable; the breakfast was great. There were several restaurants within walking distance. Even though the hotel was right next to the interstate, there was no traffic noise. The only issue was that the lights were not working in the back parking lot--we were told to park in the back to be closer to the elevators, but we moved our car to the front parking lot instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lsunana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent hotel and Staff! Top notch everything. The room was very clean comfortable... Within walking distance of Texas Roadhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend. The first room we were given was on the fourth floor. If you are not a smoker, do not stay on that floor. True, only half of the floor is smoking, but you will find that you will smell smoke in your room even if you are on the opposite side of the hotel floor. We were moved the next morning to the first floor. What we later found out was, churches hold services in the meeting rooms downstairs. So if you stay in those rooms, you will hear everything loud and clear. This is not a knock on churches, but the night service lasted until 10 PM and was loud the entire time. I could hear every word spoken in the microphone. Other than that, the personnel working here are very friendly and the hotel is very nice. Knowing what I know now, I would gladly return, just not stay on the 4th floor or the first floor close to the meeting rooms.

Room Tip: For non-smokers, don't stay on the fourth floor. For everyone, don't stay near the meeting...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexs6633, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

thanks for the information the church group will no longer be held here. n second we are placing a smoke trap on the 4th floor so that it will no longer spresd to the other side.


thank you
nick patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

It was the best stay. My friend, her daugther and I stay fro tonights and it was awesome. My friends child left her cup and Griselda was so helpfull. Next time we come back we will defenately be staying there. Awesome staff and service. Thanks, for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anayeli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We went just for the weekend, as you walk in your are greeted so kindly and smells like new! The Hotel at a great location lots of places to eat at, and gas station down the street ! Hotel is quiet despite it being off the freeway ! Only downfall the extra sheets for the sleeper were very dirty, asked twice for a new set. Very safe location.!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecc0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexs6633, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

i am very sorry that u had to request twice you should not have had to request at all it should have been clean in the first place. i will definatly look into this.

thanks
nick patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katy hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Katy
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Houston/Katy
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston Katy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Energy Corridor
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Katy East
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston / Katy Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy

Address: 21010 Katy Fwy, Katy, TX 77449-7770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Katy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Katy
Price Range: $97 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best Hotels in Katy, TexasBecause we're in West Houston, our hotel's location brings guests close to the fun of the big city while avoiding the crowded atmosphere. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Katy is convenient for every traveler since it's right off I-10.Our hotel's business-minded guests are always pleased by the great location and facilities. If you need to host an event, our large, dividable meeting room is ideal, and the Business Center and free high-speed, wired and Wi-Fi access make it easy to polish your presentation before the big meeting. Since we're on the west side of Houston, our hotel's guests are just six miles from the Energy Corridor with CITGO, BP, Shell, BAE Systems. DNV, Academy Offices and others.There's so much to discover and do near Katy with our location along I-10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Katy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Katy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing