We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wasn't sure how it would taste based in how it looked, but everything was great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooper's BBQ

Cooper's BBQ
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Junction
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On Hwy 83 near the junciton of I-10
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I wasn't sure how it would taste based in how it looked, but everything was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had chopped and sliced brisket. Not sure where the other reviewers have had brisket, but most can relate to Rudy's and Cooper's is vastly superior to that. It was mild and flavorful. This is not to mention the peach cobbler, perfect. This place gets a 4 from me because the service left something to be desired and the prices were a bit more than I thought they deserved. Definitely recommend visiting. Have the sandwich, it is the most economical option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FDW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    40
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Coopers is living off reputation and NOT performance.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Coming back from West Texas, we needed to stop for some food. BBQ is always wanted so we stopped at Coopers. Food was avg. at best and is crazy priced. All BBQ has gotten expensive but a 1 meat plate with 2 out of a box sides was $11.99. To top it off, we were charged for each slice of bread we took (unheard of InTexas BBQ) and .39 for a cup of water. I think the staff had a "we're too good" attitude and the BBQ didn't back it up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chadsaeswt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Usual”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stopped here on many occasions and the food has always been good, but this time was not the norm. The meat was dry and tough and the sides seemed to lack their usual flavor. We were disappointed and may just stop at McDonald's across the road the next time

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tired, starving for BBQ exit Junction, TX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a gem of a find right off Interstate 10! Driving for 8 hours eastbound, we see the sign -gas and Coopers BBQ. We take exit for Junction, TX turn left there it is. Plenty of parking especially for trucks & trailers. Cute cozy place with delicious BBQ. This is way far better than place in Llano. Sides are also tasty and very friendly staff. We will be back next time we cross country, we left with happy smiles! A must stop off I-10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripsfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Barbecue so tough and dry that even the flavorless watery sauce couldn't make it go down easy.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have had BBQ from all over the state of Texas, and Cooper's takes the award for the worst I have ever tasted. The brisket was tough and dry and the sausage was cold. The sauce tasted like warm watery ketchup with vinegar. The coleslaw and beans were mediocre at best. All of this put me back $17.00. At least the tea was wet. I'll never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hornhunter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Cooper's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing