We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Old Mulberry Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Mulberry Inn
Ranked #9 of 27 Jefferson B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 5, 2005

This was our first time to visit a bed and breakfast. The home and furnishings were beautiful and had an extremely comfortable bed and pillow. To have movies to use, books to read, and even having free pop, cookies, chips, & coffee available were nice extras. Then, to have hot tea available for us non-coffee drinkers was a special gift also. The fireplace and soft music playing was very relaxing and soothing. The breakfast was gourmet and delicious as well as a lovely setting. (Actually to much food for me to eat all of it!) I initially chose this inn because of the no-smoking and candle use as I am allergic to these, and this place proved to be great for that. The innkeeper was available to help us with any questions we had and to give any information about the history of the town that we wanted. My husband is a history buff and loved reading all about the town in a book they had at the inn. He even wants to go back and see more of the town and it's history. Another couple at breakfast who said they've been to 20 - 30 B & B's all over the USA, told us this was one of the very best. That speaks volumes! We will definitely stay at Old Mulberry Inn when we return.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 27, 2005

We have stayed in small inns from Texas to Nova Scotia and this was one of the best. Our room was spotless, roomy and the temperature was set to our preferred degree of warmth. Breakfast was delightful. This B&B, built in the '90's, as an inn, was so logiically planned and constructed. It is very comfortable and fits into the architecture of the area very well.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 19, 2004

We have visited B & Bs in the U.S, British Isles, Europe and Australia; have found none that compare to the Old Muberry Inn.

The facilities are convenient, attractive and comfortable. Our host, Donald Degn, was not simply "cordial," but very helpful in helping us make the most of the area.

As we told the local C of C, "the breakfasts were beyond our expectations -- gourmet delights we will recall with pleasure."

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2004

Exquisite interior design, immaculate, conscientiousness hosts, appreciated the helpful little signs posted which made our stay more pleasant, food was four-star!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2004

The Old Mulberry Inn is undoubtedly the nicest inn in Jefferson, Texas. The garden and porch areas are beautiful and have music. Each room has a theme and the owners obviously put a great deal of attention to detail. The breakfast is an outstanding three course dinner. My only complaint was that the owners left many notes in the room saying not to do things. The notes made one feel like a child staying for the night instead of a pampered guest. In addition, the owner did not offer to help me with my bags. I loved the view, the food, the recommendation for dining and shopping and the accommodations. I did not appreciate notes telling me to stay elsewhere if I wanted to smoke on the porch, to plunge the commode if I had problems, to not track in mulberry stains, or not to bring mugs to the dining area since fine china was used. It seems inconsistent to be offended by mugs when the owners could be rude about other issues. Overall, however, I enjoyed my stay and would return. The house is beautiful and comfortable. The owners should be a little more sensitive, however.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2004

The best breakfast you can imagine! Service beyond all expectations. Lovely surroundings, fresh flowers everywhere! Super clean. Pleasant background music in common areas. We could not have been more pleased.

Helpful?
1 Thank PattyForbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2003

This classy B&B is a beautiful home built seven years ago. Their attention to detail will leave you with a feeling of being pampered.
The rooms are spacious and their breakfast was delicious. You will want to stay longer at this gorgeous home. Sincerely, Ken

Helpful?
2 Thank ken n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
0.4 mi away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marshall
0.0 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 27 in Jefferson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
130.1 mi away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#10 of 27 in Jefferson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mulberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mulberry Inn

Property: Old Mulberry Inn
Address: 209 E Jefferson St, Jefferson, TX 75657-2017
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing