We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of goodies”

Jefferson General Store
Ranked #1 of 7 Shopping in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dayton, Tx
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of goodies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The store was full of all kinds of gifts and food.There was mostly
Newsyuff that you would find in any gift shop. I was looking for more old type things. But we did visit several antique shops in the town.




Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sueDayton_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    51
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hardly any words to describe besides awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Jefferson is definitely the antique capitol of Texas. While there I suggest you stop in at the Jefferson General Store. It is full of great items and knowledge. You will step back into time and see your childhood. You can enjoy any old time malt and fudge candy. It is family owned which is a plus for America lets you know they care more about the people than mass merchandising. I felt like I was at home. I would suggest this place to anyone young or old. The candy is set out in old timey setting. I just can not wait to go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The best stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Best old time candy and toys and souvenirs...hard to leave since there's so much stuff to to look at. The store is so layered with good stuff in a nostalgic old building with old phone booth, arcade games, soda fountains, neon signs, rolling ladder, brass cash registers, old shelves and glass cabinets filled with memories. $.05 coffee, dollar hotdogs, great ice cream at the lunch counter or at tables which also feature checkers...need to go back there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Over the 3 days we spent in Jefferson, we went to the Jefferson General Store twice. Lots to look at - cookbooks, jams, lots of food items, Jefferson memoribilia, aprons, toys, and last but not least, Blue Bell Ice Cream.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hifivepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trip down memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Love this place. I couldn't believe all the treasures in here. Found toys and candy I haven't seen in years. Was so glad to share with my kids.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson General Store also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing