We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Q and sides”
Review of Riverport Barbeque

Riverport Barbeque
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
409 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“good Q and sides”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Have gotten take-out at Riverport a few times when visiting the area. Extensive selection of tasty meats. Sauce is good, as well as are a largish number of sides. Only negative on the last visit was the sweet potato fries, which appeared to have spent a bit too much time in the fryer. But overall a good stop if in the mood for BBQ in Jefferson.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    53
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“SUPER YUMMY BARBEQUE!!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Another couple staying in the B&B we were in recommended Riverport Barbeque and we're SO glad they did!!! I had the stuffed potato, that had plenty of meat, plus sour cream, butter and cheese on the side. The hubs got a chopped beef sandwich and a half order of the swamp fries and they were excellent! Great local place, so if you're in Jefferson, go try it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Brisket is tender and juicy....”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I smoke beef, turkey and pork at home really well. But, I fail at brisket. We toured Jefferson, TX on Jan. 28, '14 and were advised at the museum to eat at Riverport. Great advice - it is on a corner and much like a country store atmosphere. We were the only "foreigners" eating at noon.... lots of locals and they all made us feel at home. There were 5 of us and we ordered brisket sandwiches, both sliced and chopped. The meat was perfectly flavored and easy to bite. The buns were warm and did not fall apart. The sauce is in squeeze bottles and kept warm. The BBQ beans have beef chunks and the potato salad is almost perfect. My wife's is perfect! Tony Chachere's seasoning is on each table by the salt & pepper.... the sign of a good eatery! If you ever find yourself in Jefferson, TX, be sure to dine at Riverport Barbeque.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JSS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of Texas' Best Fifty BBQ per Dallas Magazine”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very, Very Simple --- Deserving of it's ranking! The service was great and the BBQ and pinto beans were Outstanding !! Getcha Some!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NWATravelers1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Chicken and pork plate was enough for me and my husband to share...IBC root beer was the icing on the cake!! Cheapest place we ate while we were there but the food was all but cheap!! Delicious!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverport Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing