We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food slow service”
Review of Hamburger Store

Hamburger Store
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Jefferson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Under new owners! It has been completely remodeled and reopened. Come in and see for yourself and give us a try!
Irving, Texas
1 review
“Great food slow service”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was the first time we have visited Jefferson. We loved the town with all of its history. We stopped by for a late lunch around 1:00pm and the place was beginning to get busy. After 30 minutes we finally got our drinks and around 2:15 we finally got our food. Our waitress though seemed new and never came back for refills or to see if we needed anything, or even to let us know about the reason for the wait. The food was wonderful. We had the chili cheese hamburger and the regular hamburger on the jalapeño cheese roll along with onion rings. After we finished our meal another waitress came and took our dishes away. Finally we had to go to the front where our waitress was and when we asked her for our ticket and that we wanted to pay she asked what table were you at? The staff really needs some training!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    68
    40
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food & new owners have cleaned up great!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The new owners have improved the inside making it much cleaner and more inviting. The food was good, however we did have a fairly long wait. Worth a visit when in Jefferson for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluejane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you don't mind slow and poor service, wrong orders, this is the place for you.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went to Jefferson, TX today to the quilt show. We stopped to eat at the Hamburger Store there. They were not that busy, but it took 10 minutes for the waitress to acknowledge us. After we waited and waited for her to bring our food back, she came back to the table and said she had lost our ticket. We had been there about an hour by then. She told us that she would give us a 15% discount. She finally brought the order and it was WRONG. The order of fries was not included and the burgers were not fixed as specified. She never returned to the table to check if we needed drinks or even to bring the ticket. I finally got up and went to the front and asked to speak to the manager. I spoke with one young woman who said she was the manager and I told them they needed to "comp" this meal. She said it was the cook's fault that the order was wrong. I pointed out that it was not our fault. Finally a woman with a general manager name tag on came out to talk with me and offered us a 50% discount. Had the order had come to the table correctly, I would have been OK with that. They finally told us they wouldn't charge us for the meal. At the same time we were there other customers told us that they would not return because of poor service or incomplete orders.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“will not recommend”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

In the past I only have written reviews if the experience was good. Unfortunately our expreriences have declined to the point I feel I should comment and will not go back.
1st Experience-December: Food was expensive yet good . 2 burgers, shared fries, 1 drink nearly $30.00 without tip. It was a Saturday late afternoon and we waited 40 minutes for our food. Maybe a dzozen total people at the tables and we were all talking amongst ourslevbes about how unreasonbaly long it was taking. One couple had been there nearly an hour waiting.,Burgers and fries do not talke 30 minutes to an hour to make and serve.
2nd Experience-December : Food was not as good-we waited 30 -40 minutes . It was a Friday afternoon- maybe 4 tables of 2-4 people people at them.
3rd Experience :January - Sunday afternoon : Decided to give them another try and truly only because Auntie Skinners & Coryard were full- We waited 50 minutes! There were only 8 other people in the restaraunt . After waiting nearly an hour our food came out cold. We commented and the response was that it had been under a heat lamp for a while ( I have no idea why it was even under a heat lamp - the last person to be served was by another waitress and 10 minutes prior.) The server comment was that the heat lamp should have kept the meals warm.
I am generally very understanding yet this is unaceptable by all standards.
We will not go back and on the other customers comments neither will they. Sadly unless this place gets a handle on service time and cost they will not be able to survive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddw1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Restaurant!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Truly a great tasting and large sized hamburger. Service and menu selections were top rated. However, the "Gem" at the Hamburger Store is without a doubt their bowl of Chili !! Without a doubt, the best "red" we have had in 35-40 years--maybe ever! Seriously, do not visit here without trying this wonderful meal. Quality, Service, bargain prices, etc...it is all here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NWATravelers1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamburger Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing