We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Jefferson Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Jefferson
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn of Jefferson(Jefferson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Texas Inn(Marshall)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Marshall)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
67
46
42
26
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
46
42
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric jeffersonghost huntingghost storiesparanormal activitygeneral storein townbathroom doorwithin walking distancehistoric feelupstairs balconylike stepping back in timesunday morningother guestsclaw foot tubantique shopsexcelsior househallway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 203 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed here Saturday June 20th in room 24, while attending the blues festival in Linden. Everything was outstanding! Anyone with any compaints obviously has no appreciation for authenticity or history, and would be probably be more at home at a motel 6. I plan to come back and make a weekend of it, between the hotel, Auntie Skinners, and all the shops, you shouldnt have to crank your vehicle all weekend.
OK, heres where it gets good. Saturday night after the blues fest we got back to the hotel around 12:30am and there was a paranormal team upstairs with some awsome eqipment set up. They were very nice and explained everything. They had a infared camera set up in the hallway wired to a laptop in there room. We couldnt believe our eyes at what we saw, ORB'S! little balls of light flying around everywhere! And one of the guys left a recorder going in his room, and when he reviewed it, he heard a child crying and saying mommy, and there were no kids at the hotel that night! Needless to say after finally getting to bed, it took us a bit to get to sleep...lol CANT GET THAT AT THE LA QUINTA! I look forward to our next stay. Thank you to the Jefferson Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Girls weekend away for a little ghost hunting and sightseeing. Desk clerk was wonderful the whole time. He waited on us hand and foot and always had a smile on his face. We rented room 18 Friday night and 21 Saturday night. No ghost sightings all weekend! Overall the stay was pleasant, but the hotel could use some minor updating like the mattresses. They look like they have been there since the 1800's. The beds were falling apart and all they needed were to be tightened. The bedding looked as old as the mattress sets as well. I would definitely recommend bringing your own comforter and moving theirs down to the foot of the bed. No telling how often they are cleaned. The sheets were clean and changed nightly because while changing from one room to the other the cleaning crew was doing their thing. They open all the rooms up so you can see inside and we watched them clean for quite some time. If you decide to stay here, definitely stay upstairs. Rooms 1 - 20. If you stay down, it gets a little loud and you can hear people moving to and fro. 2nd night's sleep was rough because a large group was staying upstairs and moving about till late. Overall loved the staff and the historical part, but sadly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I make frequent visits to Jefferson, TX and I always start with a visit to the Jefferson Hotel. The staff are...I guess in one word...WONDERFUL!!! I love the rooms and they all have a historic feel to them. It makes you want to throw on a "southern bell" hoop skirt and sit on the front porch with a hand held fan!
The hotel and staff are like my home and family away from home. It is a wonderful place to lay your head in Jefferson, TX...that is...if the ghosts don't keep you awake!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittyconni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We (me, friends, spouse, paranormal group) always go down there for paranormal conferences, bigfoot conferences, car shows, etc. and the staff are very sweet, helpful, and the place is always clean, charming, and right in the heart of evreything that's going on. We always stay there and would recommmend it to anyone and everyone at any given time.

Casey

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank paramistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Me and my family have been staying at the Jefferson Hotel since 2005. We totally love our trips to Jefferson. We love Lamanche's and we love this hotel. The owners go home and night so you can explore the hotel all night. The beds are comfortable and we love the ghost. We have had so many things happen to us when we stay. Pick room #19 if you really want to be scared....... We love the staff and the welcome we get when we are there. We love the carriage rides with LiZA Jane and we love the ghost walk with Jodi. We come to the jefferson hotel atleaset twice a year and look forward to many more trips. I would reccommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews