We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will never stay there again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nothing about this place was inviting. The second we checked in the staff left. They told us that the front door would lock after 9:30pm, it was locked by 5. We left to go to dinner and when we got back the lock was broken and we couldn't get in. Luckily we found a way in through the back. We told them about it the next day and the lady just replied with "We know it's broke, they're fixing it today". She didn't seem surprised or apologize. There are zero noise policies posted everywhere, explaining how making even a peep will get you kicked out. Trains go by all night long so I'm not sure that people are the reason no can sleep there. The beds are extremely uncomfortable. None of the people in our group was able to sleep or enjoyed staying there. They boast that it's haunted, it's not. It's just creaky and has moaning plumbing. I love historic hotels and it seems very pretty when you first walk in so I'm sad to say that it was so awful. Even worse, when we told people in the town where we were staying, they either told us bad things about it or were no surprised that we didn't like it. Jefferson is an adorable town and we will definitely go there again, and stay some where else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CFaires14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia M, Manager at The Historic Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Im sorry for your bad experience at our hotel! Anyone checking in on Sunday should always be told that we close-up at 4pm, which our website states the same. The Monday of your stay I was called and told of your complaint about the door and it just needed a battery replaced and it was proptly fixed that day. The signs are for the late night ghost hunters that roam the hall at night, and Im sorry you found them offensive. We are an old hotel that was built in 1851, creaks and noises should be expected and is part of the charm Im truely sorry you did not thinks so and you did not enjoy your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 202 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here on December 28th in Room 18 with my wife. Our biggest problem was that the air con didn't work, even when we switched it off, it still kept blowing 110F air, and it was noisy, there were no staff around to report it to.. The room was very unclean, carpets were filthy, a lot of items in the room were broken, eg the bed, the tiles in the bathroom, holes in the walls etc. the shower was a hand held shower which wasn't great either. We paid $145/night and felt completely ripped off!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy_Mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia M, Manager at The Historic Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Due to the age of the hotel and the central air and heat had to be added carefully this meant that some rooms had to share the same units. This some times creates the problem of battling units of slow response. This would have been addressed if you had called the emergency number given to you at time of check-in. We would have came out in the middle of the night if needed. The other issues have been addressed and Im sorry for inconvenience and discomfort during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went there for a romantic anniversary get away. The whole place was disgustingly filthy. The rose patterned carpeting in the halls was black. It could have been great but it was not. Soap and water are cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slsmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia M, Manager at The Historic Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Im sorry you felt our hotel was so dirty during your stay. Due to the restaurant staff door being in the hallway there it causes more stains, but we shampoo our carpets every other month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

You won't find a better location in Jefferson. Right in the heart of town. You don't need your car if you are staying here. You walk right out the door and you can walk to everything. Room was very clean and decorated nicely. Great customer service. We would stay again when we go back to Jefferson. Try the restaurant attached to hotel, Lamaches, it is a romantic italian restaurant with a great staff and owner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayhawkgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed a couple nights at the Jefferson Hotel again this year, as we have many times in the past. Although historic and quaintly decorated, management and cleanliness left a lot to be desired this year. The handheld shower was so broken and clogged that it was useless, and although we requested it be fixed, nothing was done. The floors have not been cleaned in a long, long time. No night staff was on hand to tame an unruly, loud, screaming bunch of guests for most of Saturday night past 2AM. It was an experience we won't be repeating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retired42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a special place to stay for our "13th" anniversary. Jefferson Tx, sounded perfect. We booked our rooms 2 weeks in advance. When we arrived for check in, we were greeted by a very friendly clerk, processed quickly and went to the room. We loved it, so beautiful, quiet, and clean. We had dinner downstairs, very good, I might add. We had a very good visit. If I were to go back to Jefferson, I definitely would be resting my head at the Jefferson Hotel, LOVED IT!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I came for one night for a romantic getaway. We arrived after business hours to find the front door was locked. Luckily another guest was leaving and let us in. On the front desk was an envelope with our name and reservation information. We found our room was clean and neat. We enjoyed walking around the small town and eating at the local saloon. The next morning the front desk staff was very pleasant and apologized for us almost getting locked out. Overall was a pleasant trip. Would have liked to stay a second night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TX_Guttuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
0 mi away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
176 reviews
18 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.6 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Benefield House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Jefferson Hotel

Address: 124 W Austin St, Jefferson, TX 75657-2202
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range: $99 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a time when steamboats plied the Big Cypress River from New Orleans and true Southern gentility was the order of the day a stately structure, now known as the Jefferson Hotel, was built. Once used as a warehouse to store cotton, this lovely building changed hands numerous times. At the turn of the twentieth century it was transformed into a hotel and has served as a haven for weary travelers since that time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Hotel Jefferson
Historic Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing