We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming But Hostile?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming But Hostile?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel itself is charming, and I slept well. My problem was with the hostility of the management. Aside from the glass-encased guns on the wall, there are signs just about everywhere warning you about your behavior. Signs about unruly kids, signs about noise, signs about having your bags confiscated and your credit card charged if you check out one minute late. Even a sign that says that if you complain about noise in the morning and not immediately, you're out of luck. In the morning after emptying the room and having breakfast, I came back to drop off a tip for housekeeping. There was a woman at the front desk (first sign of staff) chatting with a friend, and I explained to her that I was going to run back to drop off the tip. She was unfriendly, and looked as though I was annoying her. My advice to the owner is to get rid of the signs and get a friendly desk clerk. If the woman at the desk is the owner, good luck.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraBSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    44
    38
    23
    22
See reviews for
37
72
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed the hotel room ambience and the town is charming. We found it very quiet compared to a normal city. I suppose you could consider the sound of the train as a part of the historic city landscape or annoying. We thought the former. While the staff is minimally involved, it is a limited service hotel so we didn't expect much. The restaurant was convenient and not crowded, but we were there mid-week and the weekends are reportedly more crowded in town so first level noise could exist during those times. The room was clean but the mattress was soft and not recommended if one has back trouble. The hotel fit the bill for a historic property but traveler's expectations of what that means should be well thought out for all such properties. We like properties with character and this one has it. Well located to the main sites in downtown. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Jefferson hotel is noisy and old. Calling it historic is being kind. The service is lacluster. When we called to reconfirm our reservations at 1 in the afternoon and got a recording saying they were closed. The sign on the front desk says no noise after 10 PM--that was a joke because the noise in the halls made sleeping impossible until around 1 AM. Furnishings were old and needed updating. I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 22!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jefferson hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
151 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The historic Excelsior House Hotel, on 211 W. Austin, is wrongly listed in B&B's, where it is #10, despite glowing reviews. My failure to realize this resulted in my staying in a B&B, and missing out on an incredibly spacious, and elegantly furnished, genuine historic room for $85 a night!

I simply want to make sure all viewers know about the Excelsior House ( check out their website).

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed overnight in room 1 at the Jefferson Hotel on 2/10/12. The hotel is located just off the highway in a quiet area of town. There is a bakery that serves breakfast and dinner, sandwich shop, and general store across the street. Room 1 is actually upstairs at the end of the hallway. Next to the room is a door that leads out onto a large balcony with seating. The room is much more spacious and elegant than it appears to be on their website, and that was a pleasant surprise. The two wrought-iron beds are more double sized than queen sized but they were more than adequate for our needs, and the couch is large enough that someone can sleep on it. The bathroom is split up into 2 rooms - one with the toilet, sink, and closet, and one with a sink and a bathtub with a handheld shower. Everything was very clean and there were ample linens.


The hotel is a little rundown at the heels with worn carpet and rips in the dust ruffles on the bed and couch, but the room is so charming you overlook it. We were told that during the week the hotel is virtually guest free and although we knew there were at least 2 other parties staying at the hotel, we never heard anyone else up on our floor. The hotel is supposedly haunted but we (thankfully) didn't witness anything strange, although that didn't prevent us from trying to sleep with one eye open just in case. We will definitely be back to this beautiful old hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs, request a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Friends and I recently stayed at the Jefferson Hotel for our annual peeps weekend in Jefferson. We've stayed here every year for 10+ years. This historic hotel is so charming and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and had everything we needed. We found out when checking in that the hotel has a new owner, whom we met that afternoon. He seems very enthusiastic about the hotel, and told us about some positive changes he plans to make. He was very eager to hear of any comments, positive or negative, we might have. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that hotel guests get a generous discount at LaMache's Restaurant (Italian), which is located in the hotel. Dinner there was delicious, prices are reasonable even without the discount. Can't say enough nice things about this place. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge, with 2 queen beds and lots of space. Every room is different, check the hotel's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NayNay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

A group of us meet every year at the Jefferson Hotel. The hotel is old, but is charming. The beds were comfortable and clean. New owner, Jeff, talked at length to let us know the changes that will be taking place in the future. We love the balcony! Usually on Sunday evenings, we are the only guests and the hotel is scary, particularly when the hall is darkened by room 19. We always stay in Room 1 because it is at the opposite end of the hall. I know next year when we go, it will be even better than before. Dinner at Lamache was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jopaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
0.0 mi away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
18.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
0.6 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 27 in Jefferson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
130.4 mi away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#10 of 27 in Jefferson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Historic Jefferson Hotel
Address: 124 West Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a time when steamboats plied the Big Cypress River from New Orleans and true Southern gentility was the order of the day a stately structure, now known as the Jefferson Hotel, was built. Once used as a warehouse to store cotton, this lovely building changed hands numerous times. At the turn of the twentieth century it was transformed into a hotel and has served as a haven for weary travelers since that time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Hotel Jefferson
Historic Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing