We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prime Rib on Friday evenings”
Review of The Cork Yard Wine Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

The Cork Yard Wine Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Prime Rib on Friday evenings”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a quaint restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. We were the only ones to choose inside seating on this visit on a Friday evening. Several couples sat outside to listen to a singer/guitar player perform. The prime rib and everything else was good but the guacamole & tortilla chip appetizer did not satisfy because the chips were very greasy. Hint-make sure the frying oil is very hot before adding the chips to the fryer. Service was adequate. The decor was rustic (including the dog that wandered through and rubbed against my leg). If you're a drinker, they seem to have a huge selection of wines and beer. The owners also run a B&B in town - Steamboat Inn. Thanks, Kristen, for letting them use your blender to make my Pina Coladas!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank texmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    19
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not their best day...”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stopped by for lunch based on reviews. However, we couldn't sit in the courtyard--even though it was a beautiful day--because it was full of piles of dirt and trash. We had to dodge two trash cans full of limbs and dead foliage to get to the restaurant. We sat inside in a dark space that might be great at night, but at lunch is not inviting. My French onion soup was inedible. It was lukewarm and seemed like a case of too much Lipton's Onion Soup mix dumped into too little liquid. My husband's salad was supposed to have an olive oil, vinaigrette salad dressing, but it tasted like bottled zesty Italian dressing. I kept hoping they would be better, but nothing seemed to improve our experience. The service wasn't bad, but the server really didn't care that the soup was awful. The other employee was busy re-landscaping the courtyard as we left.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lm10737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best in town!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stopped into this wonderful place on a Sunday, and were so glad they were open since a lot of other places in town were closed. The waitresses that we talked to we fanTASTIC and lots of fun. Outside today was beautiful so we sat outside and enjoyed the company of others enjoying a great meal. A local boy Payton was singing and playing guitar for us and blew us away w his great playing skills and his beautiful voice. After we ate we hung around for a couple hours just to enjoy the company and wonderful staff. I can't wait to go back and have a great time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It was too cold to for us to enjoy the courtyard in January, but there's room to sit inside too. You have to try their Reuben sandwich -- enough to split with someone and it is scrumptious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PKR-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff was extremely nice and service was great! Really good food selection and tasted good! I do recommend if near by!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awesome2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cork Yard Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing