We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting museum and owners”

Museum of Measurement and Time
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Jefferson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Museum features Land Surveying history, the exhibits feature examples of early surveying dating from the 1700's. Items on exhibit are compasses, transits, levels and topographic tools. Our collection includes, maps, documents and historical items from early America. Our maps feature North America, the united States and Texas from the early 1900's. The tools of early surveyors are on display. Our exhibit of early calculation devices, slide rules and other methods represent the development of mathematic tools. The museum includes an extensive clock collection featuring time keeping devices and calendars clocks. Our displays include items which measure, such as scales and barometers. Our collection of salt & pepper shakers includes pairs from each of the states and many vacation destinations. The collection numbers nearly 1000, all are unique.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting museum and owners”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a great collection of clocks, survey equipment, mechanical calculators, and other interesting stuff. The owner is a retired surveyor and is very knowledgeable of both the history and the workings of his items. If the place is not busy, the owner will give you a tour and you can focus on the items that are of most interest to you. No fee, but donations accepted.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TEMcHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    6
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting and free”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed looking at the massive collection of clocks, surveying equipment, and maps. The owners are super nice folks and give you a very personal tour. They do ask for donations, but there is absolutely no pressure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HelloDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small, friendly museum”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were given an hour long free personal tour of antique clock, maps, surveying tools, and even a salt & pepper shaker collection! The owners are so, so kind and sweet and the museum is worth going to just to meet them. This is their personal collection that they enjoy sharing with others free of charge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very, very interesting and informative”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I see that someone wrote a review complaining that he was bored by what he found here. That is his right, but I would point out that it is absolutely free of charge, and contains a large collection of important instruments used for surveying and many clocks. The owner is a very interesting and informative man, who shares his 60 years of experience with the public as a service. If one was to bother to do more than a cursory and condescending appraisal, one would meet a fine man who has many interesting stories to tell. On the other hand, I doubt he knows anything about Jersey Shore or American Idol, so if you are looking for entertainment, this is not for you. If you would like to learn something, take some time and meet these fine people and hear their stories. This is one of the most interesting things you will see in Jefferson.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank willypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting history!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The owners are a very nice retired couple that love to give a personal guided tour. We spent about an hour with the wife before her husband came in. They are both very friendly and knowledgeable about their clocks, maps and surveying tools.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sueDayton_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Measurement and Time also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Measurement and Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing