We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute but Slow Service”
Review of Beje's Diner - CLOSED

Beje's Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute but Slow Service”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a really cute, new little 1950s-esque diner. It offers hamburgers, taco salads, a salad bar, etc. as well as daily specials and desserts.

Unfortunately, the service/speed wasn't all that great. The "special" that day was a make-it-yourself taco salad. It was okay, but I found a hair in the meat (I realize this just happens sometime, and it doesn't completely freak me out.) My husband ordered a hamburger, and it seemed to take longer than necessary for it to arrive. The food was good but nothing to jump up and down about. I think it would be good for a family with children, but it's not a place that I'd say, "Let's go back there again!"

I'm okay with theme restaurants, but you really need to have distinctive food and super service (too many teenaged wait-staff aren't trained and don't give good customer service). I don't think you'd go wrong eating at Beje's, but it wouldn't be the first place I'd recommend, either.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caprina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carthage
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Hamburger!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Wednesday backyard burgers was great. Beje's is an adorable place. You won't be disappointed You can't miss Beje's on your trip to Historical Jefferson!.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaCarthage_Tx_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Went here for a late Saturday lunch. I had no idea just how late it would be. When we arrived, the place was crowded, but it thinned out in the two hours we were there. When we finally got waited on, we placed a simple order, but it took an hour to get it. It you have any kind of schedule to keep stay away.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimVette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hour and Half Lunch”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The food was okay. BUT it took an HOUR AND A HALF for our chicken salad sandwich and philly cheese to be served. My fries were cold. My husband's fries were hot. Out server was great but the kitchen was S - L - OOOOOOOOOOOOOO - W.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Cold food”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

It has been a few months since I have ate here, so this review is a little late and maybe food and service has improved.

It is nice when you go out with friends, to have all the food served at the same time, or atleast sometime close as everyones elses. Not here, a group of 8 was served food at random times and was cold when we finally received. Seems like more staff needs to be hired to handle tables. Food was generic, nothing to return again to eat, alot of other places with much better food in Jefferson.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tejas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beje's Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing