We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Excelsior House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My daughters and I stayed in the Diamond Bessie suite. It's a really nice room. The private porch made the stay even more enjoyable, and it has a daybed with a trundle so three can sleep there comfortably.
The breakfast is a must. Best coffee ever, and the orange blossom biscuits are so delicious.
We have also stayed in the Jay Gould room (it smells really odd) as well as the Rutherford B. Hayes room. It has a great claw foot tub.
The hotel staff is a sweet bunch of garden club ladies and they are very helpful and welcoming.
The little town is great place to shop and have lunch.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank LizzieBorden92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We made a last minute trip to the Excelsior Hotel last night for a quick getaway. Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk was very cordial. Our room was decorated beautifully, but had a very old, musty smell. I realize this hotel is old, but the carpet was the same carpet from 20 years ago. Our breakfast on the sun porch was delicious and our waitress was very attentive. This could be an awesome place if there was just some remodeling done with attention to details. We will probably not stay here again because of the odor in the room. However, the furnishings, dining area, and courtyard are beautiful!

Room Tip: Any room that has newer carpeting may be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingteacher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The setting takes you back in time. Peaceful, beautiful, and comfortable. hotel. The room was clean and quiet. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Loved the authentic furniture and decor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Oldest hotel in Texas. Felt more like a Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. Old furnishings and room set ups gave it that "step back in time" feel! Slept great. Right in the middle of the town. Enjoyed nice stroll thru the beautiful downtown neighborhood. All shops were conveniently located to hotel. Once we got settled in, did not need our car the rest of the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a really cool hotel that is over 150 years old. It has been upgraded enough to be thoroughly comfortable for modern travelers without losing the antique charm and ambience of the hotel. In the center of town, close to all of the shops and activities, it is one of our favorite places in Jefferson. The southern style breakfast on the sunporch in not to be missed. Room 19 is our favorite. Great for couples. And I do not care what the Texas Paranormal Committee, or whatever they call themselves say they found, the Hotel does it's share of haunts!!!. So just get used to it. They are kind spirits though, and won't harm you. /;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Reservations are sometimes hard to come by at this old hotel located right downtown and within walking distance of many of the town's attractions. Rooms are varied and all are nice. Good breakfast. Great place for a week end getaway for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Excelsior House Hotel was probably my favourite place on a recent road tip in the USA. We hadn't planned on staying in Jefferson and the helpful lady at the Chamber of Commerce directed us to the Excelsior where we took advantage of the Traveller's Special. We were given a tour of the hotel and grounds by the lady at reception who also explained some of the history of the hotel and showed us to our rooms. The rooms, like the hotel, were beautiful, full of antiques and one off pieces which give each room an indiviual charm. The rooms were very clean and well kept and on a this hot day were kept cool by air conditioners and fans. I had a large four poster bed and claw foot tub in the bathroom. The staff couldn't have been more polite or done more to help which added to the delightful atmosphere of the establishment. The entire hotel is bursting with history, including Oscar Wilde's signature in a 19th century guest register. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, especially if you're looking for a change from the sameness of most modern hotels and motels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plush74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
18.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
18 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior House

Address: 211 W Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657-2253
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Excelsior House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest and most historic Hotel in the entire State of Texas. Currently owned by The Jessie Allen Wise Garden Club. 15 Historic rooms. Desk Manager on duty 24 hours a day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Excelsior House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior House Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing