We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All she could say was.....”

Jalapeno Tree Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All she could say was.....”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

so sorry. Yep, after finding a black floating object in my glass water. I pretty much wanted to toss my food. Maybe this restaurant needs to be checked for slime in the ice machine and water faucets. I understand that the water is poured from a pitcher but where does that water come from and how did that unidentified object get in my glass. Not to mention my dinner was very disappointing. I always order the Flameado and it's around $11 and I'm okay with that. The part that I'm not okay with is that the price is still the same and the bowl was only filled 1/4 of the way. I didn't even have enough to fit in 2 tortillas much less the 4 that Amanda brought me. Amanda was a good waitress until she started getting more tables and then I had to wait for refills, not that I wanted anymore after finding what was floating in my glass. We usually get ice cream on the way out but the last several times we have eaten there, the ice cream is never hard enough to put in a cone so we have just left. I wish there was another Mexican Food Restaurant to eat at.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tex Mex”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Even if the parking lot is full there is a short wait, if any at times. The food is good and the atmosphere is nice. Like eating at Jalapeno Tree when I want some Mexican Food. Have had a good experience with every visit. My favorite dish are the Fajitas. Wish they had homemade tortillas though (my only complaint). It's just something about homemade tortillas.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The bar is open!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have always loved the food here. They have great quesadillas. Now that the bar has been added, they serve a mean margueritam too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I wish we had one of these back home...”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I spent a week in Tyler and happened upon this place with some friends. We were seated immediately for lunch and greeted by the manager. The server was exceptional and always kept our drinks filled. The food was fantastic and the faita butter was something I had never had before. Excellent..... This just may be the best place I ate all week in Tyler, Texas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TCzones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Most of the time, the food I eat here is good. I had one bad food experience and occasionally have had problems with service but if you want Mexican food in Jacksonville, this is probably the best place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajunior44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno Tree Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jalapeno Tree Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing