We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn DFW-Airport
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The pits”
Reviewed December 14, 2007

I agree with all the other poor folks that have had to spend the night in this hotel. We were staying at this hotel as a result of an airline problem. Not by choice!! The sheets were clean , I think but, were so old they were gray and so thin you could read a paper through them. I will not comment on the blanket. Words cannot discribe how nasty that was. If you are ever at the DWF airport and have a flight delay and the airline says they will put you up in this place, please do yourself a favor and say NO!! Stay at the airport it's much cleaner.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank toothgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    119
    86
    52
    84
See reviews for
92
92
87
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

American Airlines put us up here after stranding us at DFW and losing our luggage. Beyond the unfortunate circumstances, we had a remarkably bad experience with the service and the room here.

We had to call the Ramada several times after the American gate agent called to get the shuttle to pick us up. The staff’s knowledge of any shuttle had decreased each time we called them. We steamed on the hot curbside for 40 minutes. A van finally showed up and we crammed in with ten fellow American Airlines victims. We requested toiletries when we checked in since we were sweaty and luggage-free. In spite of a visible sign promising free toiletries, the front desk staff rustled around in the back for a few minutes and came back empty-handed. They sent us to a toiletry vending machine in the hallway, warning us that it only took quarters. We had to buy potato chips and granola bars from another vending machine to build up enough change for a mini-stick of Mennen, only to find out the toiletry machine was sold out of everything. We slogged up the stairs and into the dank, hot cave that was our room. A “free toiletries at the front desk” card mocked us from the dresser. We did our best to get some sleep under sticky polyester covers on one sagging double bed – not exactly what sweet dreams are made of.

The difficulties continued as we tried to leave the next morning. Even though we got downstairs half an hour early, we had to sacrifice breakfast to join the battle royal for shuttle seats. A group of six jumped on the shuttle in our time slot instead of the one they’d signed up for. The hotel staff didn’t check the sign up sheet, so most of the people who had followed the hotel’s directions were displaced. But then the whole huge group was boarded anyway and huddled into every last inch of floor, aisle and lap space.

If the choice is up to you, book somewhere, anywhere, else.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Awful, unhelpful, incompetent service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We were issued vouchers to this hotel when US Airways canceled our flight and we were stranded without transportation.. It was 2:30 AM so having a free room sounded pretty good, until we got there. This place is just plain creepy. We walked in to a dark lobby and it felt like a sauna. There was NO air conditioning in the lobby or down the very long dark, dingy hallway to our room. When we got to our room it felt like it was about 90 degrees. We had no bathroom light at all but it was so late we weren't interested in asking someone to come change it. The rooms weren't terrible. We had what we needed (except a bathroom light) but they were pretty dated. The wallpaper was peeling. A fellow stranded traveler who is a pest control guy said he found dead bed bugs on their mattress. We did get a hot breakfast. It was not very good but better than nothing and it was included . They did have a couple of nice bronze statues which really seemed a waste considering their setting. You could see that this was once a nice place gone dreadfully wrong!! Mostly we just wanted to GET OUT of there. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone other than the Addams family!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the horribly dark and hot common areas
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Where do I begin. I was having my out of state guests stay at this hotel for my wedding. When my guests called they were told that there was no reservation for my wedding. That went on all the way up to the week before my wedding. Whenever the front desk staff did find our reservation, they did not know how to take the reservation. Then they told my guests that they needed to talk to the sales office. They would then transfer the call, but no one answered and there was no voicemail. The calls bounced back to the front desk. The front desk then took a message and some of my guests never got a call back. The front desk was never aware of the time when one of their main sales managers were not in the office for about three weeks. They just continued to make up excuses about where she was such as at lunch or she has left for the day. They hired a new front desk staff that speaks poor english and he can not understand english well either. They charged my check card extra fees that were not exactly in the contract. Then they overcharged me and never admitted it. I was promised cheaper rooms because of how many rooms we were reserving and never received them. I would say if you care about your stay do not make it here. This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced and I will never return.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irtgbms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2004

Great staff, comfortable surroundings. Not fancy but clean, comfortable and kid friendly. Planning on taking my grandaughter on my next visit. The van took us to the train stop. We had dinner in Ft. Worth and returned.The air-coniditoner went out and by the time we got back from dinner, a new one had been installed. For the price, location & ammenities, it's very good.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2003

The rooms here are clean and pretty low on the frills and fuss, but the people are very wonderful! We wound up here when the DFW Airport cancelled all flights out due to weather. We (family of four, with 2 small children) had been in Tampa earlier, and unfortunately were still dressed for 75 degree weather. Admittedly, we should have been a lot better prepared. The hotel was filled to capacity with travelers whose plans had been disrupted, but the counter staff stayed calm through the waves of people, and the next morning the complimentary continental breakfast was more than adequate for all the weary travelers. They even had pre-measured waffle mix in cups with a hot waffle iron. Apple juice, orange juice and milk--whole and 2%, coffee as well. When we asked the man (Willie) behind the counter about getting a taxi to go to a store and get some more appropriate clothing for the kids, he offered to take us himself (and did). Anyway, the hotel itself was fine and clean, but let me tell you, the people there were some of the best you'll ever come across!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Irving / DFW Apt / North
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
#41 of 77 in Irving
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - DFW Airport N.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn DFW-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn DFW-Airport

Property: Quality Inn DFW-Airport
Address: 8205 Esters Blvd, Irving, TX 75063-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn DFW-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Quality Inn & Suites DFW Airport( formerly Ramada ). Located just 2 miles from the north exit of Dallas Ft. Worth International Airport, the Ramada is on Highway 114 East at Esters Blvd., the second exit east of DFW. The DFW Freeport is the hotel backyard - companies such as American Honda, Nissan Motor Acceptance Corporation, Mitsubishi, Canon, Allstate, American Home Mortgage, Computer Sciences Corporation, DeVry University, Northrop Grumman, Wendys International are our neighbors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Quality Inn DFW-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dfw Airport North Irving Hotel Irving
Ramada Irving
Irving Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing