We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious room, but slow airport shuttle and lots of highway noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spacious room, but slow airport shuttle and lots of highway noise”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The room was spacious, but we had the impression from the hotel web site that we'd have two separate bedrooms in a two bed suite. What we had were two beds plus a sofa, all in one room. We waited 25 minutes at the airport for the shuttle at 11:15 pm, and the next morning we spoke with another family that had to wait 50 minutes for their shuttle at 10:30 pm. Surprising since the hotel is quite close to the airport! The hotel is along a road where it appears there are no restaurants in walking distance. The windows provided very little sound insulation from the noise of the highway 150 yards away. The hotel had free WiFi though it was somewhat slow. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altaskier_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternNorth, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Our 24/7 complimentary shuttle service runs under schedule and our waiting time to reach the Terminals is 20 minutes, which we inform to all customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    126
    55
    25
    11
See reviews for
104
82
40
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Pros: Huge Texas style rooms, plenty of amenities such as free shuttle from airport, fridge and microwave in room, couch and center table, king size bed.
Cons: Pathetically slow internet speed, extremely slow wi-fi. My 3G network works 5 times faster than their wi-fi. On checking their speeds I found it to be 0.08 Mbps only! :(
Overall: little pricey but good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternNorth, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
We are periodically checking our internet speed and is always equal or greater than 0.65 Mbps.
Sorry for the inconvenience, we are working to increase it to 1.5 Mbps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Pros;
Excellant rooms.
Very clean.
Enough outlets for chargers,
Great Service.
Microwave, Fridge, and Coffee Pot.
Average continental breakfast.

Cons;
There is not much food near by,
It's on a frontage road of the freeway. Moderate noise, but not serious.
Bad TV Channel selection, although I use my computer to watch my own TV shows and movies.
Very slow internet. Good for sending e-mails, but web sites take forever to come up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Have started frequenting Best Western hotels based on value. This one really doesn't disappoint overall. The king suites are quite roomy - definitely on par with any of the other "suites" hotels that charge much more - I like having the sitting area if I'm staying a few days. Very clean hotel. Staff seems pretty friendly. One negative is the breakfast options were a little sparse and not nearly as generous as I've seen at other Best Western hotels in other cities. They were also a little slow and seemingly chinzy about replacing items that had run out.

Only other negative is that I have a Best Western points platinum card and wanted early check-in at about 10 am - I had to pay $15 extra for this when it is supposed to be a benefit to Best Western Rewards customers. Only after 12 noon would they allow a "free" early check-in. Were the hotel full, I could understand - but it was definitely not. Think I'll take this up with Best Western!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesluckywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

stayed here with my family for the weekend and got a great rate and decided to get connecting rooms. they were facing the freeway which can be somewhat bothersome however if the a/c is running it is not really noticeable. the hotel had a few room maintenance issues, some which can be a problem but the good things is that the hotel is near shopping malls, nearby dinning and right there at the north part of the DFW airport (great for plane watching). the hotel has breakfast but was slightly disappointing; lots of sweets but still had the waffle maker. the backside where the pool is faces an airport parking service garage which is not much of a view if staying on the backside in my opinion.
nice place just needs minor room maintenance, also if flying and need a place to stay this one to pick for the night, but they do not offer park/fly packages due to a small lot and a parking service surrounding the hotel

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We were very pleased and impressed with this hotel. The shuttle service did a great job in picking us up and taking us back to the airport the next day. The room was very large and very clean. We had a king size suite and it was huge AND the price was very reasonable (around $70) The complimentary breakfast had a large assortment of breakfast foods. We enjoyed the waffles in the shape of Texas!!! There are also a number of restaurants and fast food places in walking distance. We are planning on definitely staying here on our next trip thru Texas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUandLINDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

This is the noisest hotel I have ever stayed at! Right on the freeway. Bed was hard but okay, pillows were hard like rocks, coffee in the morning like hot water, TV was so cheap. I was exhausted after no sleep. Desk attendent was nice but couldn't understand me. Will NEVER use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squire689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irving
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency DFW
Hyatt Regency DFW
#26 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport North
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites

Property: Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites
Address: 5050 West John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063-2399 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS DFW Airport Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DFW Airport north entrance 1 mile, free 24 hour airport shuttle, free high speed internet, large desk, business center,3-story interior corridor building, microwave & fridge, close to Gaylord Texan, Grapevine Mills Mall, Las Colinas location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dfw Airport Hotel Irving
Irving Best Western
Best Western Irving

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing