We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shoe for dinner anyone?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #6 of 572 Restaurants in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shoe for dinner anyone?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was probably my mistake to order a steak for $19.95, but I was at a steakhouse, so I did. Wrong plan at this steakhouse. Shoe leather would have been easier to chew. I could not even distinguish a beef flavor. Could have been a shoe for all I know. Will not go back.

Helpful?
Thank txtrav61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    104
    40
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
409 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Texas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Saturday Night would of netted us a long wait, but we put 4 round bar tables together to fit our party of 8. Most of us had the 16 oz Rib-Eye. Melted in your mouth. I had mashed potoatoes and a salad with bleu cheese. It was great! Most of us had the "alcohol" ice-tea, served in mason jars, which was quite potent. Two guys got the Corona-rita, which is a huge drink consisting of a corona beer bottle turned upside down into a margarita. Good service and nice atmosphere. This place is pricey, but we had an awesome time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“where to start....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Going, Going, Gone way down hill. Warren the bartender must have worked at chi-k-fila before here. He ends every sentence with "my pleasure!". In an attempt to find whose food she was running, the "server" yelled my name to half the restaurant. Cold, almost frozen garlic mashed potatoes. In an attempt to find whose food she was running, the "server" yelled my name to half the restaurant. My steak was missing the garlic butter, so I asked for a side of it. When the server returned with my side of garlic steak butter, she dumped the entire scoop on my steak! Saltgrass certainly won’t be getting my business again until some big changes are made.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 615geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved this place. Everything was excellent from beginning to end. We really enjoyed this meal and loved the huge Iced Teas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Saltgrass is always a good bet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I were in Irving over the weekend and stopped in the Saltgrass. Love the beer bread. There were 6 in our party. We got there early. The food and service were excellent! Had a very good waiter. I usually have the Maudeen Center Cut filet. I opted for the chicken fried steak this time. It was very tasty! I don't think you can go wrong with Saltgrass. Saltgrass is always a good bet wherever we are.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpringTxDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing