We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Cool River Cafe - Dallas
Reserve with OpenTable
Cool River Cafe - Dallas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 580 Restaurants in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $55
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: MacArthur Blvd.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food was good. If you are a vegetarian, you have to ask about options. I had a delicious asparagus ravioli. However, I found it somewhat insulting that it wasn't on the menu nor mentioned with the specials. I understand that they want to make more money by pushing the meat entrees, but the ravioli dish was lovely and I think even non-vegetarians would love it! Cool River Cafe, you lost a star from me by not putting the vegetarian food on the menu. The place was packed and a little loud, but everything else was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 55711Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    135
    57
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you have too much money and would like to throw it away, then go to this restaurant. Their food is alright, but not for the price. Could have received just as good at Outback. We went there to for a birthday celebration thinking that we would be able to enjoy the entertainment after. The cigarette smoke was so bad from the bar area where the live band was to play that we could not stand it. Wanted to stay and do some dancing for an hour, but no. There was one person in our party of 8 that was under 21 and they kicked us all out. It was way too crowded for the space they had, and the prices were way too high. We were looking for a high class place and thought this would be one, but not. So like I said, if you are looking for a non high class restaurant with too much cigarette smoke and want to throw hundreds of dollars away, try this place. Other wise look for something different.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good meals”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

They always have a great selection each night the chef puts together. Staff is very attentive and the dining room is very open, yet cozy. I have yet to pour my own glass of wine.

This is a great place to entertain customers. Make sure you meet for a drink in the bar first before dinner, that's a whole other experience unto itself. They also have a separate cigar bar.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gconley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Its big and busy. Nice place to take friends. Good food. The main bar area is the nicest part. I do not like the side rooms with tables for 8 or more being separated from the main restaurant

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Christmas Parties here”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been to some great Christmas parties here and the place is always packed and has a very festive feeling

Helpful?
Thank txabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cool River Cafe - Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing