We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modest Place”
Review of Joe's Coffee Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joe's Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Irving
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Irving, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Modest Place”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The place isn't fancy, and frankly I love that about it. I get so tired of places trying to be "trendy" and charging extreme prices. It's nice to have a place to sit and relax. The wait staff is just great, very friendly and always attentive. Honestly, I really like the atmosphere

My wife and I have gone about 4 times now, and so far each time was great! I've seen reviews about food being overcooked, but not that I noticed. My home-style fries were a bit well cooked one time though. Probably depends on who's cooking I guess.

Honestly, the best thing to me is coming here for supper, ordering something with the salad bar for one of the sides, and getting out of there nice and stuffed for $15 for two. Honestly this seems to be our only place we've been eating out at lately, besides going out for sushi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Pie Place in Town”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a family eatery immediately on the western edge of downtown. Locals see this place as a local place to meet their friends and eat the best pie in town. Visitors see it as a hometown cooking icon. The food is good for an appropriate price. Diner atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home cooking, Iriving Staple”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place is an Irving tradation, around as long as I can recall. Decent home cooked foods, decent price, come often for lunch with co workers, breakfast until 3, and daily specials-older crowd, not much concern about healthy food, daily special is a meat & three side choices, you can easily get out with a tip for $10 or less. Family atmosphere, staff is welcoming and warm-

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwntwnkbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST little cafe ever”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The best home made food ever. Pot Roast reminds me of Mom's. Breakfast is heaven. Ham steak out of this world. They even had Brussell Sprouts...yum!!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sophiepelllet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
“Yummy for the Tummy”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I cant think of another place I'd rather eat than Joes...I always eat breakfast which is my favorite meal of the day...as said before...it offers that HOMETOWN feeling and almost everyone knows each other...the makings of GOOD EATS AND GOOD PEEPS!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieMony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joe's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing