We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegas Roll”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Ranked #26 of 576 Restaurants in Irving
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walnut Hill
Description: Welcome to a dining experience unlike any other. Watch as your personal chef performs the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Listen as razor-sharp blades slice and dice through mouth-watering steak and tender chicken. Take in the aroma as savory vegetables, shrimp and lobster sizzle before your eyes. Or visit our sushi bar, where your sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and temaki sushi, all with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vegas Roll”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The restaurant offers Good food at good prices. Remendation Vegas roll, the staff is really friendly

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great experience, atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was not our first visit to this location. A group of six, our reservation was promptly handled, at the correct time. Service was right on. Food excellent quality. Cook was entertaining. Only small negative was a drink in the bar after dinner. The ladies ordered a speciality drink to share (plenty big enough) but the agreed it was more fruity and sweet and lacked the slightest hint off alcohol. We have eaten at Benihana's in Houston, Dallas, San Antonio and L.A always consistent quality and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“This place has really gone downhill”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation for four one week for 8:30, and we weren't seated till 8:55. The hostess just kept saying she had to wait for a table to open up. This has happened the last three times we ate here, so apparently reservations don't mean anything. A trip to the bathroom and the review should end there. There wasn't any toilet paper in one of the stall receptacles, but the other had some sitting on top of the container. There was toilet paper all over the floor, and what looked like someone peed on the floor, with wet toilet paper all over the floor. It was simply gross. The checklist on the wall looked like no one had been there since 4:30, and it was 9pm. I should have left then, because if you can't manage to keep a bathroom clean, what would the kitchen look like? The chef gave the typical show with the volcano of smoke, and the food tasted fine. The company seems to really have let at least this site go to pot, and I can't figure out why in all these years they can't develop a different 'show'. I won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank texas_traveler750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

They don't seat large parties together, and would not set another table apart for the remaining. We had to make to separate reservations and the family had to eat separated.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank juanjo_moreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Montana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Celebrated my 60th birthday with my husband and sister-in-law and had the best time. Our waitress, Lydia, was the best seeing to our every needs. Our chef, Francisco, was very entertaining and a great cook. Loved the food and atmosphere. I received a free sundae, they sang happy birthday and even took a picture we got to take with, as well as retrieve the digital online. A very memorable day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing