We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sporadic Food & Service”

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #171 of 575 Restaurants in Irving
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sporadic Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We've been to On The Border several times, and the drinks are almost always good. We usually get the fajitas. We've had several times where the fajitas were not good or just okay. When we went this last time, the fajitas were AMAZING!! We told the waiter about this time versus previous visits, and he told us that they had one of their best cooks on the fajitas that night. I think we're going to ask who is cooking the fajitas before we order the next time we go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kyle, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had all you can eat Enchiladas, Burrito Chicken and a Taco Melt. Hot food and great service. Valerie was amazing as she stayed on top of the drinks and chips through the entire meal. We've been to other OTB's and this one is by far the BEST!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
520 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,146 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went for lunch with colleagues to 'On the border'. The service was ok, but the food was really good. The fajitas and all required sides tasted good. Would come back here for lunch again, good value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner with wife...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On the Border has been the de-facto for me and my wife and thats the level of Mexican we can handle...

The unlimited chips and salsa make it well worth it...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They have good ambience, Food is good and have lots of veggie choices. There Chips and Salsa is best

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeshla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing