We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place”

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #180 of 576 Restaurants in Irving
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Irving, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Place”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They have good ambience, Food is good and have lots of veggie choices. There Chips and Salsa is best

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeshla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My first time eating here was great. The food came fast. I ordered a Chimachanga w/ queso w/black beans & rice with Coronarita It was a great! & free wifi as I needed to apt hunt so just perfect... my new fav

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mommieyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Food was Bland”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I met friends for happy hour. Normally I go to On the Border in Addison, TX. Friends wanted to meet at the one on Market Place in Irving. I ordered a Miller Lite which was supposed to be a $2 happy hour drink. When I got my bill the waiter had charged me for a $4 Dos Equis. Whatever it was it could have been water because it was tasteless and not at all cold. My friends ordered the happy hour margaritas which were made with house tequila. They said they were delicious and strong. My friends ordered chicken tacos and bean and cheese burritos. They said they were good. They also liked the queso and guacamole. The guacamole was almost tasteless to me. The chips and salsa were OK. I ordered my favorite dish of Shrimp Diablo. I should have ordered something else. The shrimp were not hot, they didn't have much diablo sauce on them, and they were supposed to be jumbo. Mine were average size. The cilantro lime rice was also tasteless. The vegetables (mushrooms, squash, and peppers) were tasty. I can't complain about my pecan praline brownie sundae because it was deeeelicious. The brownie was soft and moist, and the praline caramel, chocolate sauce was scrumptious. The vanilla ice cream was soft and flavorful. I think our waitress' name was Lindsey. She was nice and attentive. I pointed out the error the waiter who took my drink order made and she was very nice about getting the price corrected. My friends ordered the sopapillas. They said they were very good. I guess out of the five of us I was the only one who was not satisfied with the food. The restaurant in Addison has much better food and service. My bill was $26.00. I think this was a bit expensive for what I ended up with. Next time someone suggests this restaurant I'll pass.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, TX USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good reliable Tex-Mex!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

OTB is a staple when my wife & I have a hankering for fajitas. We get a good value for what we expect for Tex-Mex @ On The Border. Pappasito's exceeds OTB for quality, but OTB gives good value for the price!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAAy-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT real mexican food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is NOT real Tex-Mex, or Authentic Mexican food for that matter.. its just a watered down hybrid chain that suits the less adventurous palate.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing