We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointed in Courtyard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Courtyard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Disappointed in Courtyard. When entering on first checking in or just coming back from an evening meal, the staff at the front desk are very welcoming and go out of their way to welcome you. The hallways and room were clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. So why am I disappointed? The rooms were small and the TV was placed in an inconvenient location. There was no lotion provided in the bathrooms. My hands dry out in the winter months (especially now with the frequent hand washing because of the flu going around). When brought this to the attention of the front desk staff they provided me with one, but there was never one provided in the room. Lastly, in most hotels they provide basic coffee to us business travelers in the mornings, to take with them. Not here, all of the coffee is behind the counters and has to be purchased, and is only available during serving hours. I felt I was being nickel-and-dimed, and at $134 a night, I feel they should at least provide the basic cup of coffee to the business traveler at irregular hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, General Manager at Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with both the hotel, and other travelers considering Courtyard by Marriott Dallas DFW Airport South\Irving! This type of information is a key element to our guests' satisfaction. After all, if we are unaware of a problem, we are unable to provide a resolution.

While your kind words regarding our staff and facility are genuinely appreciated, I am very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your visit.

Standard hotel guestrooms are generally between 300 - 400 square feet. Our property features 350 square feet per guestroom standard guestroom, falling just in the middle.

The location of the television is a Courtyard Brand Standard. It allows the traveler to view their favorite programs from any location of the room.

Lotion in the guestrooms is not recommended for Courtyard properties. Our specific location offers the lotion upon request as a courtesy to our travelers.

We have always offered complimentary 100% Colombian Coffee in our Lobby 24 hours a day. It is located at the coffee station behind our GoBoard. I am very sorry this was not brought to your attention. As of May 2011, we also offer a selection of Starbucks Brand beverages 24 hours a day for those who prefer a custom-made gourmet beverage. Our entire staff, myself included, are also trained Baristas to ensure you will never be without your favorite Starbucks beverage.

I do hope my reply has been helpful. Thank you for staying at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas DFW Airport South\Irving. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    61
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
21
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here before a flight back to Toronto for an overnight which turned into 3 nights because of a snowstorm in Toronto.

The staff were excellent! They went out of their way to help us out. We had returned our rental car since we expected to fly out the next day, but our flight was delayed another 2 days. There is a complimentary shuttle which will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius and we took advantage of it 2 of the 3 days. We also had the manager driving the shuttle once. Looks like everyone at the hotel helps out where help is needed, which I think is a good thing.

The room was very nice, but had no refrigerator or microwave. Beds were comfy. Internet was good (but I learned not to use P2P or you will get cut off for 3 hours or so, which I guess is reasonable). We got pizza one night and the staff were nice enough to let us use the staff refrigerator for the leftovers and their microwave to warm them up the next day.

We had dinner at the restaurant one night. The food was very good, but from a limited menu. The lobby and lounge were very nice. The pool was closed when we were there, but you could use the one at the Marriot Residence Hotel across the parking lot. It was a very quiet place when we were there, but apparently it's busier on weekdays.

There was a small problem with them charging more than agreed to, but it was easily rectified. Overall, a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed the night before flying out and left the car until our return. It has been a few years since I have stayed at courtyard hotel. Checkin was fast and efficient. The staff ready to help in any manner. The lobby provided a great sense of comfort and calm, yet the bar and restaurant area lively. Our room was spacious, well organized and had a very good bathroom. The shuttle to the airport was ontime. They were quick to pick us up on our return. It would be hard to improve upon anything, but the best part is the excellent staff

Room Tip: You can here the planes when you are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsu2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We started staying at this Marriott because it is on the south side of the airport and has 24/7 shuttle service. Their location on the south side is perfect if you are trying to avoid the craziness on the north side with all the highway construction. You can also leave your car for free for up to 7 days with a stay at the hotel. The accommodations themselves are excellent...attentive staff (i have come to know the night front desk person Chris who is outstanding), nice clean rooms, up-to-date everything (must have remodeled recently), and food available if you want it for dinner or breakfast. There is a great business center for boarding passes, internet, etc, and the lobby is especially comfortable with a nice selection of beautiful coffee table photography books for your reading pleasure. We love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for business and had a great experience. The entire staff at the hotel was great, especially at the front desk. They were very helpful and gave great service with a smile. The manager himself drive us on the free shuttle to the airport and was very personable and friendly. We had a conference room and that was also great. If you are staying at the airport I would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
508 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is just like they show on TV. Picked hotel because of closeness to DFW airport, but was blown away by how nice everything is. Had area to print boarding passes,had a bar and restaurant. Food was good, not to expensive. Have a shuttle to airport every 30 minutes statring at 330 AM.
Staff was very friendly

Room Tip: First floor rooms are noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenisSunDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
580 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've stayed at a myriad of Courtyard by Marriott hotels over the years but very, very, very few of them can top this one. You tend to think that all Courtyards are the same. This one clearly is head and shoulder's above the rest. Everything works here. Service is superb from start to finish. The Fitness room has new equipment. The rooms are reasonable size, comfortable bed, great desk workplace with a very comfortable, adjustable chair, and it is quiet. I have nothing to do except praise all aspects of the hotel operation and facility.

Finally, I've found a hotel that's very near DFW (takes 6 minutes to get to your Terminal for flights) which offers everything I need for the right price. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mshbnyehud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn DFW Airport South
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, DFW Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites DFW Airport South / Irving
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites DFW Airport South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving

Property: Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
Address: 2280 Valley View Ln, Irving, TX 75062-1730
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Irving
#20 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dfw Airport South/Irving Hotel Irving
Courtyard Irving
Irving Marriott
Irving Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing