We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strip center surprise!”

La Margarita Mod Mex
Ranked #7 of 576 Restaurants in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant resonates with traditional Tex-Mex food lovers as well as those interested in a foodie’s interpretation of Modern Mexican.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Strip center surprise!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Based on location and outward appearance one might pass this by but it is worth a visit. Good tex-mex with nice decor, friendly staff and good service. Have met friends several times here and will continue to return. Convenient to Irving/Coppell/Grand Prairie, and good choice for lunch. Much better than the chain restaurants!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent meal with my wife”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have been meaning to try this restaurant out for some time, went there with my wife in December - each of us had a truly enjoyable meal. Menu was a bit more eclectic than many local TexMex places, which I appreciate. Service was attentive. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
868 reviews
665 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“To be honest....Just okay”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Wanted to like it, great looking room, nice people I wait staff, but was underwhelmed after reading reviews. I guess if your dying for Mexican food and your nearby...it's worth the stop. But we found the chicken and beef in our fajitas dry. Interesting salsa is served warm, but a little too much green pepper spoils it. I don't know, glad we went there for lunch but won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank CliveWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
electronchick
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent tex-mex!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are in town for a few days and wanted tex-mex before we left, so we went here. The restaurant is very tastefully decorated and the food was absolutley the best, enough to make us want to come back again tomorrow! I ordered the Pollo Xolitlo (spelling?), my husband ordered the Traditional street tacos, one daughter ordered salmon salad, and my other two children ordered nachos locos. It was all very, very good. I think the chicken was the best as my two daughters kept staring at me with puppy-dog eyes for more of it! While the services seemed just a tiny bit on the slow side, when you got your food, you really didn't care how long it took, as it is beautifully presented and tastes even better!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank electronchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Top notch Mexican at just above bargain prices”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was in Grand Prairie on a bisiness trip with an associate, and we were looking for something Mexican that was good, and beyonf the things that they serve in 10000 other places. I asked at the front desk, and seh suggested this place, which I checked out on tripadvisor. When we got there, it was with trepidation, since it a mall storefront, and from the outside looks pretty non-descript. When we walked in the door, my doubt started getting erased, because it is a very nicely decorated modern looking restaurant without the cheesey stereotypical look.

More doubt vanished when I saw the menu, which had a large number of choices, many unique. We greatly enjoyed our meal, and with drinks the tab was $30. Not bad at all! So I would highly recommend the restaurant, for decor, for the selections, and for service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arozylo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Margarita Mod Mex also viewed

 

Been to La Margarita Mod Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing