We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights out hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south
Ranked #68 of 77 Hotels in Irving
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lights out hotel!”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

* Attendent guaranteed Internet but was unusable.
* TV only the center part of the screen worked
* Shower handle fell off repeatively
*. Toilet flap continued to get stuck up allowing it to run until I manually shut it off.

So if all you want is sleep on the cheap then this is the place to go. Otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfptraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTran, Manager at Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
We're sorry that you have an unpleasant stay with us, we hope to see you again to accommodate and fix the problems you encounter during your stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    78
    54
    86
See reviews for
69
60
59
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I stayed in this hotel back in 2006 and returned because I had previously had a good experience there. This time round my experience was not as positive. I had extended my stay by a couple of days but the front desk twice failed to extend my room key so I was locked out. Even when I asked them to check my key was OK they failed to do it and I got locked out again. Even well within the end time for breakfast they ran out of items and would not put any more out. Will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTran, General Manager at Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
I'm sorry you feel our services standard has gone down. I don't know why the FD people didn't program your key for multiple days, I will investigate in it. As for the end time for breakfast, did you ask the FD personel to put out more items? If so, could you tell me that person name or description so I know who to talk to.

Once again, we appreciate your business here at Super 8 DFW South, and hope you reconsider staying with us in the future again.

Thank You
Jennifer Lee
972 257 1810
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Level Contributor
214 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the hotel 9/17/10 prior to an early flight from DFW the next morning. We booked the package that allows a car to be left at the hotel for 2 weeks. Our neighbor has used the hotel several times for this purpose and recommended it. Our experience was very positive. Our room was newly redecorated, clean and quiet. The desk clerk was courteous and efficient. The driver took us directly to our flight. Upon our late-night return two weeks later, we called and were picked up in a timely manner. The driver even took us to a different terminal to retrieve our luggage, which had been sent on an earlier flight after we missed our connection. It was nice to have our car waiting for us at the hotel, since we still had a few hours to drive to our home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTran, General Manager at Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for the kind comment! We strive to provide good services to our guest at all time. We hope you will use our hotel again in the future for your next trip!

Best regards,
Jennifer Lee
972 257 1810
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2010

made unarthorized charge on my debit card..took 2 weeks to talk to manager.she would not return my phone calls.reported to dallas bbb.has been 4 weeks they will not respond to them either.if you do not like their service or have had a problem with this super8 motel.report it to dallas bbb.dont let them just take your money and be unsatisfied!!!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happy23082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Called their corporate offices to complain on this one... I stayed one night (I have stayed many at this location) and chose this hotel based on the parking/shuttle to and from DFW Airport.

We filled out paperwork on the make/model of our truck and pick-up date at the airport just like we usually do.

When we returned we tried calling the hotel for about 2 hours and the number wasn't working. We called the Super 8 on the North side and they tried as well and couldn't get through- we then took a taxi to the hotel and I asked the manager (I'm assuming) to consider paying for the taxi. She said it wasn't her fault that the phones were down and that wasn't their policy. I asked her to consider refunding some money for the shuttle or parking. She said that wasn't her policy and kept repeating (and repeating) that it wasn't their fault that the phones were out of service.

I think I was very cordial to her at first- then she decided to walk away and leave me standing there with her answer.

I wasn't asking for much actually. It wasn't my fault or hers that the phones didn't work but she knew my return date and some customer service would have been appreciated.

I really considered her attitude RUDE and was amazed at her lack of response.

I won't stay here again- ever.

In addition the air conditioner in the room sucks and it wasn't very clean- but you get what you pay for I guess. I did. Lol.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dori1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTran, General Manager at Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
On the day of your return, the City of Irving had a power outage in certain part. We were left without any power therefore there was no way a phone call could of gone through. It was an unplanned event, we are sorry for the inconvenience that you have encounter.

As for the front desk worker you had a chat with, I will talk it over with her.
Thank you for your patronage!

Jennifer Lee
972 257 1810
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Super 8, Irving is a decent place to stay. The rooms are good and the staff are very polite

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatrajKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTran, General Manager at Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for the kind comment!
We hope you stay with us again in the future!

Jennifer Lee
972 257 1810
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I didn't expect much from an inexpensive motel but for $50 I do expect the basics.
I made a reservation 2 weeks in advance and by the time I got there they had "lost" all record of my reservation. I waited over 5 minutes at the front counter for assistance before someone even showed up. The halls were hot and humid -- no wasting money on A/C I guess. The halls also smelled like cigarette smoke. They found me a room eventually down at the end near an outside door that would not close all the way (so much for security!) My key card would not work -- had to find someone again to fix that. The room looked great superficially -- only had one towel but I don't have a problem asking for another but then, later on when it is time to crawl in bed I find out there is no bottom sheet! I go to plug in my alarm clock and electrical outlet ha no cover and it was loose and kind hanging out of the wall behind the bed. The people in the rooms above and next door also partied all night -- loud rap music, bottles crashing, stomping, etc. Simply put -- not worth even the smallest amount of money until obvious problems and staff is fixed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTran, General Manager at Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
We are sorry that you experience and unpleasant stay. I will have a talk to my housekeeping staff to remember to recheck every room before leaving. Many guest beforehand may unplug things from the room, which should be checked by our housekeeping staff. I'm sorry that they have missed your room on that day. As for the partying room, did you report the problem to the FD staff? We strictly do not rent rooms out for party and such.

The rear end door does close all the way, people made not close it all the way properly. It is our utmost priority to provide security to all our guest.

We hope you reconsider us again in the future, to provide you better services.

Jennifer Lee
972 257 1810
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites DFW Airport South Hotel
5.4 mi away
Super 8 Irving / DFW Apt / North
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, DFW Airport South
0.3 mi away
Best Western Irving Inn & Suites at DFW Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport South/Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south

Property: Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south
Address: 4245 W Airport Fwy, Hwy 183, Irving, TX 75062-5916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Irving DFW Airport/south reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Irving
Irving Super Eight
Irving Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing