We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel & airport shuttle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Irving
texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & airport shuttle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

DFW Airport North is a good hotel for our pre-vacation hotel stay. We opt for the stay and fly option and spend the night and take the free shuttle to/from the airport for our early morning international flights. This is a great way to be sure you will get to the airport on time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TejasQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all our guests comments and suggestions.

I am glad you enjoyed our Stay and Fly option. We have a number of guests who enjoy this option, it certainly takes the stress out of getting to the airport on time, especially for those early morning flights.

Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    172
    78
    21
    12
See reviews for
52
78
33
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Construction is underway on the restaurant and lobby area. Starts at 7:00 am every morning, 7 days a week. Say they hope to finish maybe in August 2012.

When the noise woke us Saturday morning, I thought that they were drilling the concrete wall in the next room. When it started again on Sunday, I called the front desk.. The front desk was smooth and polite and assured me that it was the lobby construction but they could not delay it. Had to be 7:00 am.

This is all in the lobby level of the south wing of the hotel. Make sure you get a room in the north wing or a very high floor.

We booked for a Friday through Sunday using one of the discount deals online, Turns out that's why we got such a deal. I suspect the lower south wing floor are where they dump the discounters. The regulars know better and I didn't do my research so there it is.

Food/Bar: The in hotel ad's make a big deal about "Drinks prepared with the same professional skill as the bar they are served on." Actually, the bartender had to look in a book as she made me a Bloody Bull and then shook it before pouring into a glass; it looked like milky tomato soup.
The waiter forgot my beer and wandered off so I had to go get it myself. We ate in the bar (all that was open) and I had the oversize hot dog and fries. The bun was charred black but they served it anyway.

We asked for a mini-fridge and it was delivered, no charge. No workie. The replacement fridge actually worked.

The staff was generally very helpful, friendly and polite. Pool and gym first rate and staffed. Food sucks, prepared and served by incompetents. Room and bed just ok, they had a shipment of new mattresses coming in.

Room Tip: (1) North wing only (2) upper floors only (3) The Wyndham is close, newer and Not under renovatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I travel a LOT. This stay has pushed me further back towards the Hilton and Carlson brands. To be fair, I will start with the positives.

PROS:

- I love the bath amenities. The citrus hand soap bar and shower bar are OUTSTANDING.
- The vending machines take credit cards. Excellent.
- They have a snack shop. Convenient.
- Large lobby area for relaxing. Nice.
- The room itself was comfortable, spacious, and relaxing. I didn't hear any noises from rooms nearby, and I felt content in my room.
- Close to the airport with shuttle service. Convenient.

CONS:

- Check-in staff was not friendly. I don't want anyone to kiss my feet, but a smile would be nice. I smile all the time. And the best part? It's free.
- The Crosswinds Bar & Grill was AWFUL. One of the female wait staff kept forgetting to deliver people's orders (one of the customers was talking to me about it), and she totally forgot about me as I was sitting at the bar waiting to place my order. After about 30 minutes, a male wait staff member finally took my order, and then it took an additional 30 minutes to make a hot dog that tasted just awful. An hour for a hot dog to go? I would have asked for a refund, but I was just too tired to argue about it.
- When I got back up to my room, they didn't put any silverware in my to-go bag. When I called room service for some silverware (I was already dressed in my night clothes for the evening), the operator said, "I guess I can ask," in an irritated tone. Seriously??? This place is REALLY lacking in customer service skills. I will say that the gentleman who brought me the silverware was incredibly kind and wouldn't even accept my two dollar tip for bringing it up to me - that was classy, but I think he was the manager on duty.
- The air conditioning was not set to a comfortable temperature, and it took two hours to get it down to making the room comfortable. I know we are all trying to save money, but a few notches lower as a standard would be appreciated upon arrival.
- You have to pay for Internet here... at an airport hotel? It's 2013, right? LOL. Irritating.
- One of the shuttle drivers was incredibly kind, the other one was dismissive and irritable. I thankfully got to ride with the kind one and tipped him appropriately for his super-positive attitude.

OVERALL IMPRESSION:

Places like this keep me repeat visits and from concentrating and earning points in their loyalty program. I tend to focus on Hilton-branded and Carlson-branded hotels because their staff members are USUALLY pretty positive and helpful to their client base. This location missed the mark on both accounts.

I travel to DFW a few times a year, and unless I knew that there was an improvement at this location, I probably will not return, which is sad, because this location LOOKS great and has such great POTENTIAL! It's the staff that ruins it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rikerwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Part of a six hotel road trip, we thought we would finish off in a nice upscale Marriott. Dont get me wrong the hotel was clean, looked good, beds fine, staff good. However, every other hotel we stayed in (Staybridge, Springhill Suites) offered free wifi, coffee in the reception and a free breakfast. Yes I know they are low end hotel chains, but at the end of the day they serviced the same needs for a lot less price and with a lot more amentites. We actually wished we had kept staying at the other places. I guess what I am trying to say you get a lot more bang for your buck staying at a cheaper hotel nearby.
Good point Swimming pool kids loved it.

Room Tip: This is an airport hotel, dont get a room that opens onto the lift lobbies the bells on the lift rin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nceccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Metroplex. I can certainly understand your perspective on the amenities offered by different hotel brands and I appreciate the feedback regarding our hotel.

Hope you have a great 4th of July Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has all you need. Free breakfast on weekends for platinum members. Huge fitness center with nice machines. Friendly staff. Inviting areas around outdoor pool to relax. Close to interstate and just up the road from Grapevine and great dining.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkin2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our fitness center and that you found our staff friendly. It is always nice to hear positive comments about our hotel and staff.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I got sent here by DFW airport after AA flight was delayed and missed layover....

Nonetheless, they put me in the Marriott for the night.

Got there, ate in the sports bar, slept 3 hours and went back to airport.

Was very clean, bed was nice, food in sports bar was very good(better than expected). Seemed like a higher end Marriott compared to others ive stayed at.

I would stay again if coming in for business. Shuttle ran every half hour for 24 hours a day to and from airport so getting back and forth was easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your short stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the food in our Sports Bar and found the bed comfortable.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Bob Bula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of the better airport Marriott's I've ever stayed at. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were modern and clean. Internet service was fast and A/C was strong. Lobby area is appealing and comfortable. Nice stay,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhq01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS DFW Airport Suites
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
0.8 mi away
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott

Property: Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott
Address: 8440 Freeport Pkwy, Irving, TX 75063-2521
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Irving
#24 Business Hotel in Irving
#25 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North Hotel Irving
Marriott Hotel Irving
Marriott Irving
Irving Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing