We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for purpose - make use of the courtesy bus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is just on the outskirts of DFW airport. There is a courtesy bus that will take you to & from the airport - make use of it as taxis are extortionate! (More on that later)

My colleague and I took the bus to the hotel and had a quick & simple check-in. My room was spacious, had a large bed, decent desk and a large flat-screen TV. For a business hotel I was very disappointed that Internet access is an additional charge - it is free in the lobby but $12.99 in the rooms.

The hotel has a fitness centre with treadmills and other machines. If you plan on exercising first thing in the morning (i.e. 6 AM) then get down there at 5.30 when it opens as it can get busy.

We headed out to Grapevine (local town) for the day. The concierge advised us to take a taxi, which cost $20. A lower cost option would be to take the airport shuttle back to the terminal and then take the Grapevine Shuttle - $5 for the day https://www.grapevinetexasusa.com/MapsAndVisitorInformation/GrapevineShuttleSchedule/tabid/790/Default.aspx

The food in the restaurants is fine - not amazing but not poor either.

Our meeting room for the 3 days didn't have a window, which was a shame. It made for quite a dull working environment.

Would I return - only if I really had to? There is nothing to do in the area so you're marooned in the hotel unless you have a car or are willing to hire lots of taxis.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 570 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

I've spent over a month at this hotel - so any complaints must not be that big. Good location, nice amenities, friendly service. Shuttle to DFW runs on demand, and there are 3, so waits should not be long.

In one month of staying, small (generally typical) service issues have included: erroneous charges (2) on bill, failure to separate bill and incidentals as requested, and consistent failure to put extra towels in the room, as requested (even after being told it was done).

Concierge lounge on the 18th floor is very nice. However, the 'head waitress' can skulk and make the atmosphere uncomfortable. She repeatedly commented that, while the food is free, the lounge only makes money if guests buy drinks. This inappropriate and insensitive comment was repeated repeatedly, in a blatant attempt to encourage drinking. Further, her demeanor is exponentially friendlier to those who buy drinks. Simply put - this, to me, is infuriating.

Aside from the personality conflicts at the lounge, however, and the standard issues with billing that I've experienced in every chain, this hotel is a solid choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beantownmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I'm not familiar with Dallas, and we didn't really see too much of the area as we were at a conference for 2 days. The courtesy shuttle picked us up about 2-3 minutes after calling the hotel and waited while we located another colleague. Rooms were nice although we were barely in them - beds comfy, shower pressure was a little weak. It was quite hot while we were there and a mini fridge would have been welcomed.

The meals were delicious, best that I've had during a conference. Choice for breakfast was great as well.

My only complaint was our conference room was on the 3rd floor, and there were no bathrooms on that floor. We had to go to the lower level, or pool level to use them. Some people had problems with the internet connection as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicemac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Great services, clean, nice room, quiet, nice veiw; I could see all the way to downtown Dallas. Very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing away from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satterwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We booked two rooms on our way to and from Puerto Vallarta (Feb 18th/Feb. 25th) at the DFW Marriott North. This was the fifth year in a row that we stayed here. After picking up our luggage I called for the shuttle to pick us up. After a wait of about 10 minutes we were on our way on both occasions. The driver was helpful putting our luggage in the back of the bus. Check in was easy and we had rooms on the 17th floor.
We arrived around 9:00p.m. and had dinner at the sports bar which was excellent for burgers etc.
We had a morning flight so after dinner I asked what time breakfast was served in the morning. The gentleman at the desk said 6:00 a.m. Which was perfect because we had to be on our way to the airport at 6:45. The next morning we went down for breakfast only to find out that breakfast didn't begin until 7:00 a.m. I explained to the desk clerk that we were told the earlier time and would have enjoyed an extra hour of sleep. He offered us free breakfast on our return, which I thought was fair.

The rooms were nicely appointed and clean. The internet worked great. The showers were hot and the room temperature was comfortable.
We also got bonus buck certs for $100.00 as part of our package. This was cool since the room was only $119.00 for the night.

Check out was a breeze and were had no problems on either leg of the trip.

This hotel is extremely convenient and nicely run.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday on their Park and Fly Plan. We stayed one night, parked our car there for 7, and took the shuttle to and from the airport. If you are not planning on a stay, the price of the night would have come out to about the price of onsite parking, maybe a little cheaper, but since we planned to stay overnight anyway due to an early departure, this was pretty much free parking for us. The shuttle runs 24 hours, you just let them know when you need to leave. We left out at 4:15 am, and had no problems. Pickup on our arrival back took about 20 minutes.

This hotel is geared for business travelers and conferences, but it seemed fairly new and very nice. The room was standard, 2 double beds, but nicely furnished and clean. We had no problems with anything, and would recommend it to anyone for a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We attended a meeting at this location. We lived close enough to drive (2 hrs. away)while the other attendees all flew in. This was very convenient for all attendees. We checked in around 2:30 pm and were given a handi-capped assessible room. (They were probably still cleaning up from people who stayed here for the Super Bowl.) We had no problem with the room it was just arranged differently.
We had one dinner in the restaurant and one at the sports bar. Both were very good. The steaks at the restaurant were excellent. Our lbreakfast and unch was prepared and brought in to our meeting room and they were also very good. Sleeping was great. We never heard any airplanes during the night. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXFlowerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irving
0.7 mi away
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
13.2 mi away
Dallas Marriott Suites Medical/Market Center
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency DFW
Hyatt Regency DFW
#28 of 206 in Dallas
2,489 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Las Colinas
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott

Address: 8440 Freeport Pkwy, Irving, TX 75063-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Irving
#24 Business Hotel in Irving
#25 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range: $111 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North Hotel Irving
Marriott Hotel Irving
Marriott Irving
Irving Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing