We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a whim and prayer, a surprisingly welcomed find!”

The Ranch at Las Colinas
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ranch at Las Colinas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 578 Restaurants in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 114 and MacArthur
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“On a whim and prayer, a surprisingly welcomed find!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a late-night dining opportunity before us, and we chanced on The Ranch. This chance turned out to be a nugget of golden opportunity. We enjoyed fine dining -- quite casually -- as you'd expect on a classy ranch. The setting is rustic nouveau...not too kitschy, not overdone. Comfortably, almost upscale but inviting and casual.
The service was top-notch: attentive, knowledgeable, helpful and engaging.
The menu offers unusual twists on comfort classics such as venison chili, bison sausage gumbo, tasso ham and pickled pear flatbreads, smoked prime rib.....
It was too late to have a full course meal --- but, we all made the best of it! Cadillac Burger, buffalo steak, flatbreads, steak salad, and mini Kobe tacos....
All delicious...topped off with a Peppermint Patty ice cream cake. Mmmmmmm.....
It was a great, late night treat with friends, family and good new-style comfort food. We will definitely return at an earlier time to strap on the feedbag!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radigonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    251
    67
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time. Good food.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went to this restaurant with some work colleagues on a recent trip. I like the fact that the restaurant plays up its locally sourced ingredients (and beer - try the Buffalo Butt). I had a tortillas soup and the redfish - both were quite tasty. My colleagues had the ribs and fajitas and both looked good as well. No complaints.

Our server was a young guy who was very eager to help. The only thing I noticed is that when I asked him about different entrees, the response to everything was that "it's great". Obviously as a waiter your job is to speak well if the product you offer, but every once in a while it's always good to have an opinion as well.

We sat inside, but I also noticed they had live music in the outdoor / smoking section which was a nice touch.

Very good experience overall and I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NEFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“COLD FOOD!!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

They need to get temperature probes or better service. Went lastnight. Seated in an area with several dirty tables that took forver to get clean. Waiter came by to drink orders then it was just slow service with not much attention. We ordered queso was just OK maybe it would have been better if it and the chips where served hot instead of cold, I had grilled meatloaf with mashed potatoes and veggie medley, wife babybacks and mac n cheese with bacon. Meatlof was good, potatoes and veggies not same temp, wifes meal was delivered without side and they stood over it for a minute before it was delivered, the mac n cheese came out quick but not with order. I tasted her food, OK at best. Just not impressed with how clean it was, service, temp of food, and taste.Better choices in DFW!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pleasantly surprised. Had some live entertainment that was not horrible but not great. Food was outstanding and so was the service. Didn't think it was overpriced and I highly recommend the salsa - OMG!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alwaystoobusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Dinner”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our dinner was great ! Well worth going. We first had the sampler of all the appetizers. I fell in love with queso blanco, and then I had a flatbread with fruit and blue cheese. A very complete menu, with local products and tex-mex flair.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank artatwerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch at Las Colinas also viewed

 

Been to The Ranch at Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing