We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another great Aloft!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Las Colinas
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Irving
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great Aloft!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are familiar with the Aloft brand, then this property will meet all your expectations. Personally, I like the boutique and hip feel, and I like that all the properties look alike.

For those not familiar, the hotel and the rooms are all set up to look very hipster and modern. The rooms are small but very functional (electrical outlets right where you need them). While looking cool, the hotels are budget-conscious and do not nickel-and-dime you (free water, free wi-fi are standard). Given that all the Alofts I've been in are the same, one could complain that they seem cookie-cutter, which is fine for me.

Front desk (or "aloha desk") was positive and friendly. My only issue was that there was no ice on the floor. We had to go all the way to ground floor to get ice. Otherwise, It was another great stay at an Aloft.

The location is set in the back of a small restaurant complex, but it's in heart of Las Colinas, off of 114 so easy to get to the airport or to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maur75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review and the very accurate description of the Aloft Brand! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback about the ice. We hope you are able to stay with us or at one of our other Aloft Hotels. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    97
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
34
56
21
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Lots of amenities for the budget minded travler. Good restaurants in walking distance. Just a great place to stay. Sarah the front desk manager is extremely friendly and always willing to point her guest in the right direction.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne M, Manager at Aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and I will pass your compliments on to Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
392 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My stay at the Aloft was fine. The room was a bit industrial and lacked warmth in decor. Kinda cheap feel to it like staying in a dorm room or an Ikea decorated hotel. For example, the wall above the bed had a cow hide insert that was paper instead of the real thing. It wasn't awful, just texturally lacking. Trying to be upscale and then cheapening it with a paper insert.

The bed was comfortable. The lights from the parking lot made it essential to turn down the blinds blocking out the sun in the morning. Maybe not a big deal to some, but I like waking up to the morning light. I couldn't get the a/c to run a comfortable temperature. It was either too hot or too cold even with the movement of only one degree. I woke up several times during the night on consecutive nights trying to adjust it appropriately.

Showers were unusually hot, so extra points for that and their shower products were above average. There was a small fridge, a safe that I couldn't get to work, and no tub, shower only. So after long days of standing on my feet, there was no relief to be found in a hot bath.

The pool table in the lobby with comfortable chairs was a nice change. The bar area was inviting of interesting conversations. And there was a snackbar area near the check-in desk that beckoned you to spend way too much on a candy bar. The pool area was nice. Parking was okay. The elevators were a little slow, but manageable.

I thought it was odd that they placed a small snack bag with a few munchies in it on my table. I thought it was a welcome gift, only to find out that if I opened the bag it would cost me $10! The snacks had been sitting in the window and seemed like they'd been there for some time and had a used kind of quality to them.

Feels like more of a college hangout than a business professional place to stay. That being said, my room was clean and quiet and I'd stay there again if need be. I probably wouldn't choose it, but I used Priceline to book it and named my own price for $50. Not a bad deal for that price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool or back area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne M, Manager at Aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We all want you to know that it is greatly appreciated and hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The pool was a perfect temperature. It was really nice to not smell like chlorine when we came out. Everyone was very accomodating and friendly. The bartender let us have glassware to take to our room and even opened our bottle of wine for us. The staff were upbeat and gave off a positive vibe - like they enjoyed being here. Of course this made our experience better as well. I felt like we were hanging out with friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne M, Manager at Aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay! We look forward to your next visit to Las Colinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed one night back in February 2013 on a trip through 3-4 cities in the US. Good modern hotel with nice big room, clean facilities (no tub in the bathroom, which I didn't miss really) and hassle-free check-in/check-out. Room design is modern, air temp was comfortable through the night and not a bad place to sleep several nights in (if the trip had been longer).

I think the only thing that could have been improved is the lighting level in the room--I found it very dimly lit but then again, I find that most hotels in the US like it that way).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne M, General Manager at Aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time out and providing us with your feedback!! I am glad that enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your visiting with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for business. I was pleasantly surprised. It looks and has the funky feel is a W without the cost.
1)Rooms are nice and clean. 2)Large shower and nice sink area
3)staff is very attentive.

Yes they have plastic cups in the bathroom, but that's about the only give away that you are not staying at a more expensive hotel.

I would recommend you try it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne M, General Manager at Aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback!! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at aloft Las Colinas!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the time we walked into the hotel we loved it!! We got a great online price when reserving our room. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We loved the contemporary and modern flair of the hotel. Everything was clean and well kept. Our room was great! We loved the setup and the shower was amazing!! We also love the Bliss Spa items in the bathroom. The music at night was very cool. We would definitely stay here again and again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne M, General Manager at Aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you April for your feedback! I am glad that the aloft Vibe was right for you and hope that you will visit with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#57 of 78 in Irving
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas
2.4 mi away
NYLO Irving / Las Colinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas / Irving / Las Colinas
0.5 mi away
Dallas Marriott Las Colinas
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Las Colinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Las Colinas

Property: Aloft Las Colinas
Address: 122 E John Carpenter Fwy, Irving, TX 75062-2700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our comfortable and affordable hotel rooms, our hotel also provides meeting space, complimentary wifi, and a convenient location to the Irving Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aloft Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Las Colinas Hotel Irving
Aloft Hotel Irving
Aloft Hotel Las Colinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing