We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was a very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Dallas / Las Colinas
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The service at this hotel is superb. We have been staying at this Wingate for a number of years when we go for the Texas-OU game. We always return, not only because we like the location, but also the rooms are very "roomy" and have all the extras (microwave, refrigerator, etc). The manager is excellent to work with, as we had approximately 13 rooms reserved and thecheck-in went very smooth. The only problem, there were a couple of rooms that had minor toilet problems.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKYellowjacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

Our room was disgusting. Front desk staff was awful. Requested a wake up call that never came. Linens were wrinkled and bathroom looked as if it was never cleaned. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davej65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We were traveling to Dallas to see a football game. We were on a budget and chose this hotel because of the previous reviews. Here was our experience.

Airport:
We called when we landed and were told where to wait outside the terminal. They informed us it would be @ 10-12 minutes. No problem. We ventured outside and were right where we needed to be nice. :) We were standing by the sign we were supposed to be at. We received a call from the front desk stating the driver could not find us. We looked up to see the van about to pass us. We flag her down. She states that she had been there 3 times and could not stop at the curb because the police make them move. Now I believe that the police make you move and not stay parked on the curb. However it was a pick up zone. We were there the entire time and there were no police. I asked if we were in the right place and she said yes. She never stopped becasuse we didn't flag her down. ?????

Hotel:
I believe the person at the front desk was Abdul. He was nice and let us check in early. We went up to the room and there was hair all over the bathroom floor and in the shower and a used wash cloth hanging from the curtain rod. EWWWHH!!! We went downstairs and had our room changed. The second room was better. There is a huge flat screen tv very nice. The room was big and had a mini fridge and microwave. The bed was very soft.

Service:
We called on Saturday night and asked for a wake up call for Sunday morning at 7:30 AM. They never called!!! Thank goodness I woke up on my own.

When we came down for breakfast we informed the front desk that the smoke alarm in our room kept going off and the batteries needed to be changed. They told us they would take care of it.

We went to the front desk to ask for a ride over to Chammps to get a shuttle to the game. The driver from the day before and Abdul ignored us as they talked and ate breakfast. They finally came over to us after at least 10 minutes and said it would be another five minutes before they could take us. (the shuttle to take you arould town was advertised another reason we booked this hotel) We missed the shuttle to the game and had to wait an hour before it could come back and get us.

At 5 AM the smoke alarm started going of continually. My husband got up and disconnected it from the wall and took the battery out. It was still going off. (like the Friend's episode with Phoebe) I called the front desk very upset because they were supposed to take care of it the day before. The woman informed me she could not leave the front desk because she was the only one there. She told me to leave it outside my door. I'm sure the other people sleeping in the rooms next to me would have loved that.
I hung up very mad. I took the smoke alarm put it in the elevator and sent it down. I know there are cameras in there so I assume she got it.

Not one person came to apologize for the smoke alarm incident. When I checked out on Monday and they ask the usual "How was your stay." I informed them and again they did nothing. I will never stay here again. I can not believe the lack of service or consideration for a guest.

Positive:
The afternoon driver, the man, can't remember his name. (sorry) He was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

All of the personnel at this hotel treated us like VIP's. They were very courteous, friendly and helpful. The front desk people answered all of our questions and did not make us feel like we were bothering them. Our room was clean and smelled fresh. The bed was sooooooooo comfortable. The free breakfast was delicious ...was the best breakfast we had at hotels in several years. The hotel is located in a pleasant, safe looking neighborhood. We also like the fact that the room was a great deal (puchased on internet), and we could leave our car in the parking lot for free and not worry about it. Their courtesy van took us to the airport and dropped us off at our terminal. Driver helped us find our gate when we got turned around. When we returned to the airport 7 days later we simply called the hotel and the courtesy van picked us up from the airport, took us back to our car. The courtesy van drivers were of great assistance to us in both navigating at the airport and with directions to get on our way back home. We will abosolutely stay here again in the near future. A friend told us about this hotel and we are so glad we took her advice!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasGrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel is truly value for money for anyone who is looking for a hotel to stay in the Las Colinas or Irving area. Some of the key benefits that a guest would have are:
1. Shuttle service provided by the hotel
2. Free airport pickup/drop
3. Complimentary breakfast
4. Avis-Rent-a-Car office inside the hotel

The hotel provides you all the amenities that you would require as a traveller and at the same time give you the most competitive price that is possible. The rooms have all the basic amenities and are well maintained.

The only flip side is that their is no in-house restuarant but there are various restaurants around the hotel which have the option of delivery to the hotel and also there is a restaurant just one block down the hotel which acts as the room service provider for this hotel.

A definte pick for a business or a leisure traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This hotel is located in a complex of hotels and restaurants moderately close to DFW. They have an airport shuttle that will also take you around to nearby places (5mi radius, I think), but I would definitely recommend reserving the shuttle well in advance because it's first come first serve. You'll have a decent number of walkable eating options, but unless you have a car, you'll need that shuttle if you need to go anywhere else.

The hotel is very well kept, and the rooms are quite spacious and classy with high ceilings. The beds looked nice and were comfy. I also liked the large alarm clock, which I think is some kind of Wyndham trademark. There are a microwave and refrigerator included in the room. The bathroom is also nice with impressive shower water pressure and Neutrogena toiletries.

The continental breakfast in the AM is great! In addition to the traditional starchy continental breakfast fare, they also have hot eggs and bacon. Plus, they have this an awesome waffle maker that makes waffles in the shape of TX. Genius!

Lastly, the hotel was nice enough to give me a short extension on checkout because I was running a race that morning. I was quite impressed by this hotel and would look for this hotel brand again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I visit the DFW area (from Europe) on business and pleasure about twice a year for the past 10 years. I've finally found a hotel that has everything I thing I need to support both the work and pleasure aspect of my time in the area.

a well-maintained hot breakfast buffet (no fruit); spotless rooms, comfortable beds; Neutrogena bathroom amenitties; ini-room safe; microwave & mini-frige in the room; free business center, roomy and modern fitness center; located near shopping & dining; and professional staff (desk, housekeeping, maintenance, & breakfast bar).

It's the real-deal for travelers seeking excellent quality for the price !!

The hotel is listed as near DFW airport. It isn't in the immediate vicinity, but is only about 10 miles away, on the Dallas-side. 10 miles isn't very far, in terms of Texas mileage. THE GOOD NEWS: they offer a DFW shuttle service and the hotel has an Avis car rental office on site. Save the extra 1-2 days of car rental and get airport-to-hotel-to-airport shuttle service.

Thank you very much to the team at Wingate, Las Colinas !!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reisenfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Las Colinas
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas - Las Colinas
0.9 mi away
NYLO Irving / Las Colinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dallas - Irving - Las Colinas
1.7 mi away
Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas
1.5 mi away
Aloft Las Colinas
Aloft Las Colinas
#27 of 79 in Irving
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Dallas / Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Dallas / Las Colinas

Address: 850 W Walnut Hill Ln, Irving, TX 75038-2611 (Formerly Wingate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Irving
#7 Best Value Hotel in Irving
#30 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range: $87 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate By Wyndham Dallas / Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are built for business and so much more! Our hotel features oversized rooms, free wireless internet, free business center with print/scan/copy/fax capabilities, and an expanded free breakfast. Our shuttle runs a 3-mile radius of the hotel. After a long day of business, enjoy our well-appointed renovated guest rooms and enjoy the new bedding package.58 We are located in Las Colinas, an upscale suburb of Irving. Avis rental desk on-site with 25% savings over airport rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Dallas / Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Las Colinas Hotel Irving
Wingate Irving Las Colinas
Wyndham Irving
Irving Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing