We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
orlando florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Getting tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here recently for business. I am a Starwood member and try to use their properties whenever possible. Usually stay at The Element when in Dalls. While the Element is not a full service property it is so much nicer. The beds ar super comfortable hear and the hotel is relatively quiet for an airport property, but everything else is showing it's age. Gym equipment need some TLC. Mini bars no longer in use, but still in room. Tryied to get a key to keep some sodas in the unused mini bar but none were available. Many better choices in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to lets us know about your experience while visiting our hotel. Our goal is for each guest to leave us refreshed and renewed. It’s our promise to you! I regret that your experience was not perfect and I assure you that we take all guest feedback very seriously and work hard to continually improve our service. We are also in the process of refreshing our hotel. In the coming months we will be installing brand new equipment in our Westin workout as well as new 42" LED TV's in every guest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    370
    157
    61
    45
See reviews for
189
189
100
596
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

If your traveling in and out of the DFW airport this is a great location. However be prepared to wait. We waited nearly 15 minutes to be greeted in the bar the night we arrived. The hotel overcharged for "incidentals" by $160 we are still waiting for the charge to be removed. We stayed 3 nights and did valet parking, we had to leave our keys at the front desk every time we arrived at the hotel and had to wait 2 out of 3 times for the valet attendant to return from who knows where to get our car. The hot tub was out of order the entire visit. On a majority of the floors the vending and ice machines were out of order. The fitness center was nice however the temperature was too high for people working out. The hotel was clean however due to our negative experience we will not be staying with a Westin property again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJtravels405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I want to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your last visit. We have a great deal of pride in our hotel and our service. We consistently receive high marks from our guests and I regret that you had this type of experience. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to provide outstanding service that our hotel prides itself on. Please feel free to reach out to me the next time you plan a trip in DFW and I will make sure you are upgraded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had to travel on a weekend for a business meeting. I convinced myself that things would be "OK" because it was a Westin.

The moment I entered the hotel, I knew that I was wrong. The staff are VERY friendly, and the service is good... I just would have hoped for the Westin brand of environment, rooms, etc.
I was working in my room and there was a TON of noise in the hallways. House keeping was working on the rooms and the slamming of doors happened for over an hour. I live in a major city -- noise is not new to me -- but it is jarring to have doors slamming and then my hotel room door shaking.
There is NOTHING in the area. A Denny's and a gas station (with mini-mart) are the only building other than hotels in the area.
Mini bar is empty, which means you need to go to the lobby for drinks or snacks.

Bottom line -- it is an airport hotel, and feels like it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I regret to hear that your experience in our hotel was not up to your standards. We take great pride in knowing that the most of our guests leave rested and replenished. It is important to us that our guests sleep well in our Westin Heavenly beds. Although, I am sorry about the noise I do see how that would make for a restless nights sleep. I will work with my team to address any acute noise issue that may exist. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.
As for our location we offer complimentary shuttle service to many activities. We are conveniently located near Grapevine, Irving, Las Colinas and many other areas that offer excellent dining, shopping and entertainment. We also offer our own unique and outstanding food and spirits in our Blue Fire Grille restaurant and lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We got a room for our 11th year anniversary. This is my second stay at this hotel. We loved it the first time ! The second not so much.... The ice machines on two levels did not work. My level was one of them. We had to go to three different levels to get ice. main reason we got a room was to go to the jacuzzi. Yes well that didn't work either. I'm really disappointed that a so called 4 star hotel would allows this. Very dissapointing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my deepest apologies for any equipment that may have been out of service during your stay. It is our goal to have everything in working order so that our guests can rleax and be revived. Unfortunately we were performing pre-season work on the Spa during your stay. I am happy to let you know we have completed pre-season work. We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again. Please let me know the next time you are in the DFW area and I will make sure you get upgraded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you need to be close to DFW this hotel is a great choice. The first room I was given at this hotel was a little bit loud since it faced the runway. I called down to the front desk to request a new room, so they moved me right across the hall to a room that was much quieter.

The rooms here are very large, they have the typical, very comfortable Westin bed. The gym here was small, but very nice. It did get a bit crowded in the mornings that I was there.

The best part about this hotel was the breakfast. For Platinum guests they offer free breakfast, since there is no lounge, and it is excellent. The omelette station was fantastic and they had lots of fresh fruit.

If you need to be by the airport, this hotel is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsamaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just finished a stay at this hotel. The staff are very helpful and professional. The rooms are clean and well sized. Room service is fine and the restaurant is serviceable with a great staff who make you feel at home even when you're dining alone.

Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the flight path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_D_In_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed for 4 days on business and don't have any complaints. I mainly slept in the hotel but the staff that i did encounter was nice and friendly.
My checkin was for Tuesday but after an early AM flight, i needed a quick nap before heading to the office. i called before my plane took off to ask for early check in. I was advised that it shouldn't be a problem because they weren't fully booked. When i landed, i went straight to the airport and they were able to check me right in. The "heavenly bed" that the Westin offers has ALWAYS been a favorite of mine and it was perfect for my nap!!
The rest of the days went by quickly but i was lucky enough to partake in the breakfast buffet one morning. They had a great selection of foods and fruits and i was sincerely satisfied with my meal. i even ordered room service one night after a long day of work. the bread pudding was FANTASTIC!!!
Best part about the location is that it isn't far from the airport and there is a 24 hour Dennys across the street. This may not mean much to some, but for a night owl like myself who seems to always miss dinner, this was a godsend.
All in all, i enjoyed myself but i don't think i've ever had a bad time at the Westin. I will say that the bathrooms seemed a little small to me. Either my memory of the bathrooms is bad or my stay at the Four Seasons the week before is clouding my judgment. Smaller bathroom aside, the shower head made up for it! i didn't want to get out!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyAdamz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irving
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
2.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt DFW
Grand Hyatt DFW
#1 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency DFW
Hyatt Regency DFW
#23 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
0.2 mi away
Sheraton DFW Airport Hotel
5.3 mi away
Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport

Property: The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
Address: 4545 West John Carpenter Frwy, Irving, TX 75063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Irving
#5 Business Hotel in Irving
#9 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#17 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raising the bar among airport hotels, the Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport is a chic, comfy retreat where you can relax and revive. Our Dallas airport hotel is adjacent to DFW International Airport and offers free shuttle service to/from for guests. Take a refreshing dip in our outdoor heated pool, or get your pulse racing in our WestinWORKOUT(R) Fitness Studio. Perk up with a fresh cup of Starbucks (SM) Coffee at our in-house cafe, pick up a snack at our Market, or enjoy a Southwestern-style meal at our BlueFire Grille restaurant. Each of our 506 guest rooms and suites are beautifully decorated and equipped with contemporary amenities like Wireless High Speed Internet Access. Enjoy a peaceful night's sleep in our signature Heavenly(R) Bed and refresh in our spacious bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport Hotel Irving
Westin Hotel Irving
Westin Irving
Irving Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing