We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives Westin a bad name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Flowood, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Gives Westin a bad name”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Location was fine. Lobby is nice and new but the bed rooms say a different story. Torn Linen, no supplies in the room, fridge not working, carpets not cleaned and bath towels have seen bettter days.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paragkarania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for you feedback. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this experience in our hotel. Our staff of dedicated hospitality professionals works hard each and every day to ensure that the guest experience in our hotel is a refreshing and renewing one. Clearly we disappointed in your instance. As this is certainly not the standard in which we have set or aspire to exceed I want to thank you for bringing this to our attention. You have my commitment that you will not find this type of condition should you allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    408
    172
    67
    49
See reviews for
208
206
112
656
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Il
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

American Airlines gave me a free night at this westin because my flight was delayed due to mechanical issues. (AA apparently feel hotels are cheaper than preventative maintenance but I digress, this isn't a review of AA).

The hotel is nice. the room is well decorated and clean. I got here late but still ate dinner in the bar. The food was okay; hopefully its better during the normal dinner hour.

the front desk was very helpful, including providing free internet and toothbrush/toothpaste. It was clear they wanted to help my unexpected layover be as positive as possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We appreciate your feedback. This type of information is invaluable to us as we constantly look for ways to improve the guest experience in our hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the future and yes the food in the restaurant is exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

American Airlines gave us a voucher for a room at the Westin DFW Airport because we missed our connection due to mechanical problems. It is a typical businessman's hotel near an airport. Way overpriced for the level of service in my opinion. We could not take a shower in the morning because the threads on the shower handle were stripped; the handle just spun on the shaft when we tried to turn it on. ("Sorry", the desk clerk said, as if a maid should not have noticed this.) The toilet needed a new flapper, because it kept coming on to refill every few minutes. We had dinner in their restaurant on the airline voucher; prime rib was OK but the "broccoli with hollandaise" side was limp, flavorless, oversteamed, with fake hollaindaise. A Las Vegas buffet could do better for $10.95 instead of Westin's $32.

The desk clerk very courteously gave us free internet when I mentioned our situation, but the regular charge would have been $10. I don't understand why, when hotels like this charge premium prices for mediocre service, they load an EXTRA charge for internet on top of everything else. For Christ's sake, $50 roadside motels give you free internet. Why can't these big hotels just put everything into their room price, instead of charging for a phony add-on? Might as well charge extra for sheets.

I can't see any reason for anyone to pay the price for a place like this when the bottom line is that they don't even care about providing a working shower. I pity the "working warriors" who have to make this kind of place their regular stopover. Given a choice, I would never stay at a Westin when traveling again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We appreciate the time you have taken to express your feelings about our hotel. Even though your experience is not typical of what we hear from the vast majority of our guests I do sincerely apologize for what seems to have been very disappointing. I only wish that I had had the opportunity to visit with you while you were a guest in the hotel. I am sure that we would have found a way to resolve these issues to your complete satisfaction. This type of information is very valuable to us and I assure you we will use it to improve the experience for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I'd read every review i could find on the Westin hotel. how comfortable can a hotel bed be?! The beds were really that comfortable! The room was nicely decorated the size of the rooms were a little small and the bathrooms were tiny. The pool and hot tub were great. I can't complain about onlookers from the gym. < there was noone exercising> The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The downfall I'd say was the smell in some of the hallways and it seemed be different on every level, I thought it was a musty smell this did not carry into the room. Disappointed that a 4star hotel charged for internet usage, as most 3 star hotels do not charge you for internet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT Worth
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Went to the Westin for a quick overnight stay with the wife. The place while a little older was very nice, The roof-top pool and hot-tub were really cool and the planes fly right over. The hotel had a Starbucks inside and the rooms were up to Westin par. Overall this was a nice place for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texazstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel as I am nearing Starwood Gold status and have til the end of the year to get it before my stays reset. I chose westin since it has an airport shuttle. For the price paid I was disappointed. I was in the second floor, the room was tiny and the low ceilings (7 ft) made it seem even smaller. The bathroom didn't include an exhaust fan thus there was black mildew starting to form in the shower as well as some rust forming on other surfaces. Also no mouthwash bottles were provided in the bathroom, something some hampton inns and holiday express (lower star level hotels) do provide. The staff were excellent, very friendly, polite, well dressed, and knowledgeable. There was plenty of noise seeping into the room, I think housekeeping was vacuming hallways at 7 am. Overall the room was fine, it just felt like a typical bad holiday inn except the hotel actually completed critical maintaince in the rooms. Not worth the money I paid but I noticed priceline paperwork on the check in counter. My guess is that they are selling the rooms for 70 bucks to priceline customers and sticking it to their own customers, since that is prolly the case it would have been nice to get a free upgrade, breakfast, something.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck29355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

I apologize for what certainly seems like a less than desirable experience during your last stay. I assure you that we value all of our customers and none more than the loyal Starwood Preferred Guests. We take great pride in knowing that the vast majority of guests that stay with us leave refreshed and renewed, better than they arrived. I do deeply apologize that we did not accomplish that in your case. I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future so that we can regain you trust in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

It was a very big bed and extremely comfortable and it lived up to their reputation but one particular pillow had a horrible body odor on it. I threw it on the floor and it still smelled. They also charged $9.95 for internet usage in the room which normally comes free by their competitors. I simply had to go out to local restaurants for free wifi but would expect hotel in this caliber to offer that for their customers. Thank god I didn't have to pay for the parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyhming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1, General Manager at The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention. The Westin Heavenly Bed experience is essential to any Westin stay and I apologize that we fell short. I will certainly address this with our housekeeping team. As this is the first time we have had this type of issue I want to address it quickly to avoid it for future guests. I appreciate this information and we appreciate your patronage. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again the next time your travels bring you to the DFW area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irving
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency DFW
Hyatt Regency DFW
#27 of 204 in Dallas
2,335 reviews
5.4 mi away
Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas
2.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt DFW
Grand Hyatt DFW
#1 of 204 in Dallas
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
0.7 mi away
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport

Property: The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport
Address: 4545 W John Carpenter Fwy, Irving, TX 75063-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Irving
#5 Business Hotel in Irving
#9 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#17 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raising the bar among airport hotels, the Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport is a chic, comfy retreat where you can relax and revive. Our Dallas airport hotel is adjacent to DFW International Airport and offers free shuttle service to/from for guests. Take a refreshing dip in our outdoor heated pool, or get your pulse racing in our WestinWORKOUT(R) Fitness Studio. Perk up with a fresh cup of Starbucks (SM) Coffee at our in-house cafe, pick up a snack at our Market, or enjoy a Southwestern-style meal at our BlueFire Grille restaurant. Each of our 506 guest rooms and suites are beautifully decorated and equipped with contemporary amenities like Wireless High Speed Internet Access. Enjoy a peaceful night's sleep in our signature Heavenly(R) Bed and refresh in our spacious bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dallas Fort Worth Airport Hotel Irving
Westin Hotel Irving
Westin Irving
Irving Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing