We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and economical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean and economical”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Great free happy hour. Clean room but cheap beds. Good price so it was what I expected from Wingate. I'd stay here again as it's got a great location for an early flight

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saskproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjayvarma, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I would like to Thank you for your time to provid a feedback for our hotel. All feedbacks are very important to us to improve quality of our hotel.
Sanjay Varma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    134
    153
    105
    105
See reviews for
155
83
66
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were recently stranded in DFW for three nights and put into this hotel by American Airlines. Although there is little in the surrounding area, except a service station and a Denny's (which served a great T-bone steak!), it was handy for the airport and provided a free shuttle service backwards and forwards between the hotel and airport.
The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious and the hotel itself was quiet. The wifi was free and although the signal wasn't very strong around the pool, the signal from the neighbouring Red Roof was easy to pick up in this area and also free. The complementary breakfast was OK and the lounge area comfortable. Although a few of the desk staff struggled to answer queries, this was more than made up for by the pleasant manager, Sanjay and the extremely helpful assistant manager, Shaqueita, whose cheerful, friendly and accommodating manner really helped to soothe frayed nerves after dealing with ignorant American Airlines staff on a daily basis. All in all, a pleasant stay - we'd be more than happy to stay there again should we ever find ourselves stranded in that part of the world.

Room Tip: If you need anything other than a big, fluffy pillow, take your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameRosbif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were on our way back from Cancun and missed a flight along the way and ended up stuck in Dallas for the night. American Airlines put us up for the night at this hotel. We were very tired as we had been stuck in the Cancun Airport all day then flew to Miami and then to Dallas. We were told 5 mins until the Wingate shuttle would arrive when the Airline had call to reserve our room. We waited for 30+ mins. Call the front desk ourselves and were told that we were standing at the wrong door. So we walked for about 15 mins and never saw the gate/door she was talking about. We call back and the manager gets on the phone and tells us that we need to get to the gate/door we were first waiting at. Check in was quick and easy. Once we got to our rooms the AC temp read 85 degrees, it was steamy. The rooms are okay, a little outdated. The bathroom actually was decent until I opened the shower and the tub was so discusting and dirty, big black stains all over the bottom. Overall it was a pretty poor stay and I am not happy with American Airlines for putting us up in this place either. It was not accpetable for even the few hours that we were there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndbrit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dljr60
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed one night at the Wingate at DFW. Check in was reasonably easy. Very busy hotel. The room was very nice. Rooms were reasonably well sound proofed. Wi-fi is not free. Parking is a bit tricky. The front desk will validate parking so you do not have to pay. Good overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dljr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjayvarma, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Just for FYI we do have complimentary WiFi.. I am not sure why there is a miscommunication on that part.
Again Thank you for your time.

Sanjay Varma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Five of us were stranded in DFW for three nights & given this hotel by AA. All in all not a bad hotel, rooms are comfortable & large, complementary breakfast is ok & the staff were helpful especially the assistant manager, lovely lady. Dennys is a handy place to eat & food is good. We would be happy to be stranded here again.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stubs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjayvarma, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
I would like to Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate that you took time out to compliment our hotel and staff. We hope you do not get stranded again but you are most welcome at our hotel.
Sanjay Varma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

American Airlines needs to drop this property from its contract list for lodging vouchers due to exceptionally poor shuttle service and mangement. Took 45 minutes for the undersized van to show up at the terminal with the promise of another large bus in 10 minutes. We never saw that. Fortunately, a Holiday Inn driver was kind enough to take us to another property - thanks IHG!
A fellow stranded passenger didn't have a credit card to put on file so couldn't check in - what a ridiculous policy for stranded air passengers who only want to get to a room for a few hours sleep, not rack up incidental expenses. Another gentleman provided his card, fortunately.
Cross this property of your list!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjayvarma, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hello. Thank you for your time for feedback on our Hotel. I do apologize for the inconvenince you had. It is a third party shuttle and they work with 4 hotels including Holiday Inn who picked you up. They have only Holiday Inn sign but it is a same company who handles that hotel too.
They are usually on time but sometime when airport cancels the flight it is alwasy unexpected and there is a lot of construction going around the area of airport so going back and forth it takes about average 30 minutes in standard traffic. We will try to work on the busy time but traffic and weather is not in our control. Also about the credit card hold is important for hotels as there could be a incidental or damage to the room guest is responsible for it so we do not charge on the card but it is required by corporate, Most of the hotels has this policy.
Again our apology for the inconvenince but we will try our best to accomodate our guest.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I give this hotel a very good on the rating, BUT these are the problems I had: first, the heater didn't work and the bath tub took about 15 minutes to drain from a shower. Reported both to the front desk. I told them that they weren't a big deal to me, but they would to the next person in the room.

I purchased 2 nights from the Wyndham web site. I decided to stay an extra night. The front desk said buying off their web site was the same as priceline and they could not give me a room at that price. Hindsight is 20/20, I should have walked into the business center and made a reservation, but didn't and had to pay about $20 more for the extra night.

Check out time is noon. I tried to get on the net at 11am and no wi-fi. Call desk and transferred to tech center (in India). They brought me an cable at noon. The card key also had to be reactivated so it would work until noon.

Good value for money IF you get it off a discount site.

Room Tip: Buy off a discount web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
3.7 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Las Colinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - DFW Airport N.
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving

Property: Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving
Address: 8220 Esters Blvd, Irving, TX 75063-2907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Dfw / North Irving Hotel Irving
Wingate Irving Dfw Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing