We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankful for the bed. Not for the smoke smell.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Thankful for the bed. Not for the smoke smell.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I got stranded in Dallas after the recent tornadoes and thunderstorms and by luck, got a room here. It sure beat spending the night in the airport.

The room was tastefully decorated. The bathroom was nicely tiled, the leather recliner was a nice touch, the sofa bed in the living room was comfortable, and the separate master bedroom suite was great. I was also pretty impressed by the size of the washing machine and workout area. If I were staying for a longer period of time, that would have been great.

But I was stuck in a smoking room -- which I didn't even know that hotels had anymore -- and it was nauseating.

Couldn't sleep all night because of the smell even though I had the windows flung completely open.

If you're a smoker, this probably won't be a problem. Everyone else should be SURE they get a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: There are train tracks nearby -- and the trains run all night long with bells ringing at the crosswa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wferriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristie M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feed back; we appreciate the opportunity to clarify the situation. Please understand that at the Candlewood Suites Dallas-Las Colinas we strive to provide every guest with a memorable stay. We recognize that you were checked in to a smoking room. However, please be advised that reservations made in advance through our hotel or hotel central reservations line are guaranteed to satisfy the smoking preference of the traveler. On the other hand, last minute reservation made through a third party reservation site does guarantee the traveler a room at our premises, but does not guarantee the room type available at check in. We regret that you had such a bad experience in the smoking room you were assigned to, but please understand that every effort to accommodate you and all of our other arriving guests were met, on a day when the hotel was 100% to its capacity, due to the Byron Nelson Championship and Comic Con taking place within a 3 mile radius from our hotel, which caused all the hotels in the area to sell out.
We are looking forward to serve you in your future lodging needs, and hope this response will help you understand that we made every effort to accommodate you in your resent stay.
Should you have any questions and or need further assistance please do not hesitate to contact a member of management or a guest service adviser at the hotel.
Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
6
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Compared to other Candlewood Suites, I rated this one inferior.. No manager's reception (there isn't a lobby only a very small room for guests to crowd in to check in. One pack of coffee in the room and was told I would have to pay for more. Enjoy single tea packs that are normally available? there was a charge as well... Business center printer had no paper, when I inquired I was given 5 sheets. I ask for non smoking and didn't get it. No receipt under the door, had to stand in line in the "little cubby hole lobby" to get a copy. While these things may sound petty, they are the little things I enjoy about staying at Candlewood Suites. Area was very nice and there are many hotels adjacent to this one, may be worth checking those out..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHopeItHHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear knoxville123,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment, and available hotel facilities prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had 3 stays here between August and December 2012. Each move in revealed a consistently meticulously clean studio. Weekly cleaning had the same high standards. I cannot say the same of less expensive extended stay chains. The staff is outstanding. Maintenance requests promptly handled. As a travel nurse, it was everything I needed, 2 miles from Las Colinas Medical Center.

Room Tip: Call the unit directly as far in advance as you are able. Irving Convention Center is less than a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTHONY Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was been one of the VERY BEST hotels we have recently experienced! Very quiet hotel with exceptionally clean rooms, clean hallways (shiny floors) and beautifully appointed remodeled rooms with the nicest decor we have seen compared to other Candlewood Suites!
The staff was very friendly!
The rooms are not only well appointed but there is obvious care taken in making a guest experience the BEST from the internet codes posted in the room to the superior cleanliness to the obvious adjusting of guest room doors so they don't slam! (As a road warrior it is unusual to stay in a hotel where one doesn't experience the slamming of doors!)
This will be our choice whenever we frequent this area!
It is very obvious that they go above and beyond to make it a memorable stay!
The management and staff have made this our choice in Dallas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is average quality for this price range, and staff is nice. Location is pretty good, with a couple of restaurants withing walking distance. It was just repainted on the exterior in the last couple of weeks, so it looks good from the outside.

Inside, it's old, appearance mostly due to the carpeting, and the terrible odor as soon as you walk in. The lobby is just a wide section of hall in front of the main desk. There's not much room to pass anyone checking in if they have any luggage to speak of. The rooms have been remodeled, so they look a lot better than the common areas, and are laid out pretty well. The laundry/pantry/exercise area is nice, and free laundry is an appreciated plus. The only issue I had with my room was the toaster did not toast both side of the bread. A new one has been requested, but not received after two weeks.

The Internet...well it sounds good "high speed" and all, unless you need to actually use it. In the afternoons, evenings, it is almost impossible to get anything accomplished, even loading basic pages like CNN, the Weather Channel, etc. can take a LONG time, so use the coffee maker and relax. It's a bandwidth issue...if the hotel parking lot is full, forget it, because everyone else is using it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srg22801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel was great, and the service was better. Chris was amazing. He did everything he could to accomodate us on our whole 5 day stay, and even when we got there early, he did what he could to let us still check in. We brought our 12lb Shih Tzu. She was able to stay in the room while we went to places around the area which was a great help especially since she isn't a barker. The only thing I would complain about is that the walls are thin. I was able to hear the guy next door putting dishes in his sink, but it was never any time that interfered with our sleep, but after sleeping there for three nights, both of our backs were bothering us, but we still aren't sure if that was from riding Go Karts all day. The rooms were newly renovated and they looked great. We used the HDMI hook up on the tv and cooked french toast on the stove top. It doesn't have an oven. The location is near a railroad track next to it, but I never heard any trains. They were painting the building and put plastic on the outside of our windows so my dog couldn't look outside. They also put plastic bags and tape around our cars so I guess paint didn't get on them. Other than that, the location was great. They even offer free access to a nice fitness center near by if their fitness center doesn't have everything you want. Overall we loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The suite I was given was very clean an spacious, as was the bathroom. The bedroom offered a very comfortable bed and a second TV with a good choice of TV channels.

The location is very convenient if you're flying out of Dallas, since it only takes 15 minutes to get to the airport.

Didn't have any problems with neither noise, staff nor cleanliness of the room. The 6 days I spent at the hotel turned out to be very pleasant and quiet and I'm starting to appreciate Candlewood for that, since it's not my first time in this chain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miwe_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - Las Colinas - Green Park Dr.
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dallas - Irving - Las Colinas
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - Las Colinas - Carnaby St.
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Las Colinas
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - Las Colinas - Meadow Creek Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas

Property: Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas
Address: 5300 Green Park Dr, Irving, TX 75038-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Enjoy all the comforts of home at the Candlewood Suites Hotel Dallas-Las Colinas. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, we're in the heart of the Dallas Metroplex and convenient to downtown Dallas as well as Ft. Worth. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player or DVD/VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard now featuring 'Juan Valdez' complimentary coffee to all guests. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Nearby companies include Fluor, NEC, Verizon, Nokia, Zale, Caremark and Citigroup. We are also close to many major expressways, Grapevine Mills Mall, Irving Mall, The Movie Studios at Las Colinas, Texas Stadium, the University of Dallas, & The TPC Las Colinas, which hosts the EDS/Byron Nelson Golf Tournament. Now offering complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms, complimentary transportation within a 5 mile radius of the hotel and Priority Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas Hotel Irving
Candlewood Suites Irving
Candlewood Irving
Irving Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing