We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break 2010”
Review of Roddy Tree Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roddy Tree Ranch
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingram B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Our family of 11 had another wonderful time at Roddy Tree Ranch during Spring Break. We enjoyed hiking, canoeing, playing basketball, and just chilling out. The young children had a blast. It is such a kid friendly environment. We had extended family staying in another cabin so it made a great time for basketball games and late night party games and Guitar Hero in the big house (as we call it)! We all enjoyed seeing all the deer grazing and walking around. The young children especially enjoyed the donkeys and horses. Thanks again Roddy Tree Ranch for providing a wonderful get-away place for our Spring Break vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXLove2Travel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2010

We took our 2 young children to Roddy Tree Ranch. We NEVER once saw the owners or other employees. They left the cabin key for us in a box with a map and during the 2 days we were there never saw a soul. The office was never open. Obviously the hospitality is lacking.
Our cabin was clean but the couch was just plain dingy and the deck needed some upkeep as trees were growing up through the wood.
We had fun using the canoes and feeding the ducks but that's it. Next time we'll find somewhere else with better hospitality and hosts that go out of their way to at least greet us, say hello and make sure we're having a good time. We have been to other, better places in the past. They do exist.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roddytree, owner at Roddy Tree Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2010

This customer came in after hours on a Friday night & left before the office opened on Sunday morning. It was the off season and we man the office sparingly. There are telephone numbers on the office door if someone needs assistance and we are not in. The couch is called shabby to chic where we are from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed here with a group of friends for 2 nights. We stayed in the original stone house on the property. While decorated in a cute manner, it was not clean. The comforter and pillows on the sleeping porch had permanent stains, and I covered my pillow with a t-shirt before sleeping on it. The area is beautiful and could be a very relaxing place to visit. The morning of our departure we were enjoying our coffee with a few minutes to spare before checkout when the manager/owner? came to our cabin and informed us that we needed to be totally out by check out time. (Which we knew and were planning to observe.) When we visited the gift shop, he "froze us out." It is a shame for a lovely property to be managed so.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prairiestarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roddytree, Owner at Roddy Tree Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

I'm glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. You're right — the area is gorgeous, and an ideal setting for relaxation. I'm sorry that you found stains on your pillow. I will discuss replacing them with the rest of the team. We want everyone to feel welcome here, and I apologize if I offended you in any way. We've made several improvements since your review. I hope you'll give us another try soon!

Best,
Keith, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

They gave my reservation to someone else because the other person wanted a cabin for more nights than i did.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Service
1  Thank ejorhgjewhfjgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roddytree, Owner at Roddy Tree Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

I am so sorry to hear about this. We want everyone to feel welcome here, and I'm sorry if this was not your experience. I feel as though there was some miscommunication upon reserving your cabin. I'd like to hear more about this so we can make it right. Feel free to give me a call at 830-367-2871 if you'd like to discuss this further.

Best,
Keith, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

My extended family has been going to Roddy Tree ranch annually for several years now and thoroughly enjoy it. The ranch is laid out in individual houses of varying sizes, just perfect for each of our families to have our own space. We typically use Hi-Haven as our main place of gathering as it has a nice kitchen and large keeping room, and a large covered porch that we absolutely adore. There are two pools, horseshoes, canoeing, and river access, but for the most part, we all enjoy sitting on the porches and visiting with each other. It is a space where there is enough for the kids to do, mainly exploring and enjoying the outdoors. Over the years we have stayed in most of the available houses, most recently Cody's Little Bear. All are clean and have comfortable bed and accommodations. RTR is convenient to Kerrville and other hill country activities. All in all, it is a great place to go and my extended family absolutely adores it. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akhly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2006

This is a great getaway to take family, children and friends! This place features cute country cottages in hill country with all of the very much needed amenties that a city girl like myself needs! They provide little things for you like kitchenware, appliances, toliet paper, trash bags, you name what you forgot and it is there. The activities were plentiful for the kids and the adults: fishing pond, Guadalupe river, basquetball courts, gameroom, swimming pools, arcade, petting zoo and a mini blockbuster in the office! Management was super nice and helpful. I wish we could have stayed longer!

7  Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingram
6.5 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
9.5 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
153 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roddy Tree Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roddy Tree Ranch

Address: 820 Highway 39, Po Box 820, Ingram, TX 78025
Location: United States > Texas > Ingram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingram
Price Range: $75 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Rustic elegance of our Texas Hill Country Resort, located on 50 tranquil acres between Ingram and Hunt along the Guadalupe River in the Texas Hill Country. Our Texas Hill Country Lodging is perfect for family vacations, groups and reunions or a romantic getaway to a slower more peaceful way of life. Here you can set and rock on the front porch with your morning coffee, stretch your legs and walk the trails, visit the barnyard animals, fish in the pond, take a dip in one of the pools or paddle your canoe down the Guadalupe River.Come visit and stay in one of the 18 beautifully decorated Guadalupe River Cabins. Each one of our 1, 2, 3,4, or 6 bedroom cottages are uniquely furnished with soft 100 % Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, soft quilting, curvaceous wrought iron beds, simple primitive antiques and country shabby chic touches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roddy Tree Ranch Hotel Ingram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing