We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelivable hospitality”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Huntsville
Houston, Texas
1 review
“unbelivable hospitality”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here recently, nice clean rooms.....Staff goes out of there way to please there guests.
(tamika,mrs. mock) Very knowlegible on local area and good shopping tips.

Definately would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 273manjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
5
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The location of this property is great, the staff was very courteous and friendly. The property is a bit older but for the age it is nicely kept. I enjoyed the small breakfast in the morning! I would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_SBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
608 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed here on my way from Dallas to Houston. Unfortunately the weather was very bad the next morning with a tornado doing some damage to the town at 8:35 AM. The whole city was blacked out, including the motel. Luckily the motel was not damaged, but it was difficult to see to pack my bags and check out of the motel without lights. I could not get a receipt at the office due to the lack of electricity. I know this was not the fault of the motel, because it was an act of nature, but it did make me associate this motel with an unfortunate situation, and there was nothing that particularly great about the motel. It was just a place to spend the night. Due to my experience, I would probably find another place to stay the next time I'm traveling between Dallas and Houston.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallTexWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edna, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The only good things about this place are that the bathroom had been mostly updated and it offered a separate bedroom nook and TV for our teenager. But the old musty carpet, old bedspreads and weird blue bedsheets made it disgusting. The building is very old and it needs a total overhaul. The hot water was rusty brown, even after running it for a really long time. Only one of the three of us was brave enough to take a shower, and he said the shower-head sprayed water out the side. The room just felt nasty and stale and we couldn't wait to get out of there. Take my advice, spend more and stay somewhere new.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rockingfranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntsville hotels

Okie
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

The room we reserved was with a queen bed/nonsmoking. For the price, I expected the worst, but the entire room was neat, tidy and quite spacious. Yes, even the bathroom was spotless.

I must agree that the hotel staff are quite welcoming and friendly. This was an unexpected "hidden jewel" on a long journey home.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karnlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We have stayed here twice and would stay again. The room was very clean, bed linens clean and the bathroom appeared to have been renovated latey. Staff very, very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaveriderPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We checked in at midnight. We called ahead of time to let them know we would be late and they are the friendliest staff. We checked in and walked into our room. Moldy smell from the very beginning. Carried our stuff in and noticed carpet was extremely dirty. Chunks of what appeared to be mud on floor and other junk. Bag of gummy worms dropped next to desk? Bed had plastic over the mattress sticking out and board that supported the beds that stuck out so you tore up your legs if you walked too close. The bed has a kick plate about 5 inches in and if this place was ever vaccumed, they might notice all the junk that is left from one guest to the next. Walked into the bathroom, toliet obviously not scrubbed on the inside for a long time..... Feces around the toliet paper roll. Soo much grime on the tile floor, it made you wonder why they did white with white grout. If you are not going to clean this then choose a dark color so no one knows. Did not take off my shoes the entire time I was there for fear of catching anything. Sheets and towels appeared to be clean. Decided it was too late to check back out, we should just rough it. Told my daughter to pretend you are camping, she stated the bathrooms are cleaner at campgroups. Got ready for bed and left all bags zipped up tight. Woke the next morning after 4 hours sleep and wondered what I could do about this mess. I jumped in the shower and realized the drain did not drain properly, I took less than 5 minutes because I knew my husband and daughter had to take a shower after me because we had appointments to view the college. My daughter had to shower with standing water in the bottom of the tub. She got out and then my husband wanted fix the tub so he would not have to stand in the dirty water. I told him not to clear their messy drain, it was not his job. While he was showering my daughter and I both at the same time saw a cockroach crawl accross the bottom of the TV. That was the final straw. We packed up our stuff and I was going to say something at the front desk but it was crowded and did not want to make a scene, after all the staff had been curteous on the phone and in person and this was not their problem but rather management that obviously 1 does not care or 2 does not check up on their cleaning staff. We checked into the La Quinta next door for $10 more a night and our stay we from a 1 to a 10. Do not stay in the hotel unless you are very desperate. When we tried to book the La Quinta they were booked online, so I thought the econo lodge would suffice. Thank goodness that spaces opened up at the LA Quinta when we needed them the second night.

  • Liked — front desk staff
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank Astoria1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Huntsville Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Huntsville
La Quinta Inn Huntsville
#10 of 13 in Huntsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Huntsville
Days Inn & Suites Huntsville
#5 of 13 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Huntsville
Super 8 Huntsville
#3 of 13 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Huntsville
Red Roof PLUS+ Huntsville
#6 of 13 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 112 Interstate 45 N, Huntsville, TX 77320-3659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Econo Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Huntsville
Huntsville Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing