We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best El Chico's”
Review of El Chico - CLOSED

El Chico
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: El Chico in Huntsville; a Tex-Mex restaurant that was established since 1940, was voted the Best Mexican restaurant and as the Best Steak place in 2013. Come and try our delicious and reasonably priced entree's, you will surely be impressed. Take Exit 116 on I-45 when you are heading to Dallas from Houston, we are on the feeder road.
Garland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“one of the best El Chico's”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I love texmex and have eaten at several El Chico's would rated this the best in food, service, cleanliness....

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cc1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mmmm-mmmm!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I enjoy El Chico's mostly for the nostalgia. The chips and salsa are not particularly good. I however, truly enjoy the cheese enchiladas. I feel El Chico's has some of the best cheese enchiladas at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn_D680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Beef Fajitas”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Try the mix grill (shrimp, chicken, beef) or beef fajitas. You have to order the classic frozen or on the rocks margarita. If you've got some room left, the fried ice cream dessert covered with chocolate is a treat.

Food ordered and served within ten minutes. Great atmosphere listening to the Eagles, Gino Vanelli, Earth Wind and Fire and other '70's classics.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdUrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, great service, average food”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stopped into El Chicos for a takeout order last night since I was staying at a nearby hotel and it was convenient. I ordered the enchiladas with mushroom, chicken and bacon ($10.60 with tax). My order was ready to go in about 10 minutes. While waiting, I enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant, which was dimly lit (in a good way) and the wall paintings and such made for a nice eating environment. Every staff member to whom I spoke was engaging, friendly and quite happy to make recommendations or offer other assistance.

Upon returning to my room, I was pleasantly surprised that they had also included a paper sack of warmed chips and a container of salsa. As indicated in other reviews, the salsa was not the usual chunky variety, bursting with flavor, but rather a bit runny with some kick. But since I was not expecting this, I was pleased with it. The enchiladas (2 of them, with rice on the side) tasted ok, but nothing spectacular.

If I were in the area again, I would probably try another place, but if I were spending the night nearby and didn't want to drive, its not a bad place to have a few bites.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, great service, average food”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stopped into El Chicos for a takeout order last night since I was staying at a nearby hotel and it was convenient. I ordered the enchiladas with mushroom, chicken and bacon ($10.60 with tax). My order was ready to go in about 10 minutes. While waiting, I enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant, which was dimly lit (in a good way) and the wall paintings and such made for a nice eating environment. Every staff member to whom I spoke was engaging, friendly and quite happy to make recommendations or offer other assistance.

Upon returning to my room, I was pleasantly surprised that they had also included a paper sack of warmed chips and a container of salsa. As indicated in other reviews, the salsa was not the usual chunky variety, bursting with flavor, but rather a bit runny with some kick. But since I was not expecting this, I was pleased with it. The enchiladas (2 of them, with rice on the side) tasted ok, but nothing spectacular.

If I were in the area again, I would probably try another place, but if I were spending the night nearby and didn't want to drive, its not a bad place to have a few bites.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing