We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak”
Review of Homestead On 19th - CLOSED

Homestead On 19th
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Providing Huntsville with fine dining since 1995.
Pittsford, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The homey atmosphere was quiet and serene, and the service was very quick. My daughter had a steak earlier in the week at a fancier restaurant, but said her steak here was actually better. The food and drinks were all excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochesteragent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    8
    6
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, Just Excellent”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I went their with some friends while on a business trip. The original log cabin was built in 1834!!! However, it has been added on to and is cozy and comfortable. I started with a nice house salad, good and fresh. I then ordered the pork loin chops with mashed potatoes and asparagas. I got two huge chops, excellently seasoned and grilled beautifully. The mashed potatoes were heavenly, and the asparagas? Small, tender spears that were cooked to perfection. Then I opted for desert, I don't remember what it was called, some DECADENT chocolate thing with fresh berries...ooooooo, I dieted for two days afterward!!!! They have a good wine list and serve large glasses. Overall, an excellent experience with great food and atmosphere. Oh, the prices? I was shocked at how resonable they were, (I think my pork was about $24.00!). Don't pass on this experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homesteadon19th, Owner at Homestead On 19th, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about The Homestead on 19th. It is always a great pleasure to hear about new customers like yourself discovering us. We are committed to providing unique quality and flavors that you will enjoy and hopefully keep you coming back. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Gratefully,

The Homestead on 19th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RATS!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Was told after seeing rats on numerous occasions that its impossible to keep them out of the old log cabins! If that's the case it should be impossible for them to continue serving food. Do Not Go Here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodguy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monapeck, Owner at Homestead On 19th, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We have completely redone the kitchen and worked very hard to get the rodent problem under control since purchasing this restaurant before the 1st of the year. I can assure you that everything, other than the fact it is an old log building, has been, and continues to be done on a regular basis to continue to control this. Thanks for your review! We hope you will try us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Charming seems to be a word often used in describing this quaint little restaurant. Great restaurant located in a historic area and building. Lots of "charm" and character with a nice menu. Hard to find restaurants of this caliber in the greater Houston area. We have been often but I'd like to return in warm weather and have a cocktail out on their back courtyard. Most importantly, aside from great food and atmosphere, service is always polite and attentive. That equals true charm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, atmosphere, I know the chef!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We go here for women's luncheons or dinners. Every dish is guaranteed to be good. wine and other drinks are available. It is unique in Huntsville for quality and variety of food!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NormaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead On 19th also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing