We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in area and maybe anywhere”

Bennie J's Smoke Pit
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best in area and maybe anywhere”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Without a question the best BBQ in town, and maybe anywhere on their best days. The specials also can't be beat - fried chicken, shrimp, catfish, chicken fried steak, or whatever they make that day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    20
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Blessing to Huntsville, TX”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The best slow-smoked BBQ in Huntsville, TX - the sides are screaming, especially the mixed greens and black eyed peas - besides BBQ ribs, brisket, and sausage - the fried chicken is the best in town when it's on the menu - best soul food restaurant in Huntsville, TX!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 1st_WorldCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, friendly staff!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were looking to eat somewhere in Huntsville we hadn't been before - decided to try Bennie J's after reading reviews on this website. We stopped in for lunch on a Saturday - such a great location! Employees were very professional and friendly and the lunch was great! We each had some BBQ brisket and sausage... both loved our meal and will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neverpromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fried catfish I have ever tasted...period.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We go on Fridays for the fish....unbeatable. Not as big on the bbq, but that is beside the point for me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjt0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good food, but I wouldn't call it great. Not the best in Huntsville.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bennie J's Smoke Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing