We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sam Houston Statue & Gift Shop”
Review of Sam Houston Statue

Sam Houston Statue
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sam Houston Statue & Gift Shop”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

No visit to Huntsville is complete without stopping by to see the Sam Houston Statue. The staff is very friendly and seeing how the statue was built is interesting too. I love the gift shop, there's always great Texas memorabilia.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    80
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mr. Sam Houston”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We could see him coming from over a mile away! Mr. Houston looked like he was standing right in the middle of the interstate.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricialayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tricky to get too but worth a brief stop”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We took our 3 year old grandson there to pass some time and he enjoyed the lunch we had on the picnic tables. The welcome center has a small gift shop and a large wrap around porch which is nice and reminiscent of old homes. The statue is huge and pretty impressive up close. As stated it is tricky to get to. One must take the indicated highway exits and follow a back road to enter the parking area which is behind the statue. Please do not park on the shoulder of the highway and walk across to the statue. It is illegal to park on the highway shoulder except for emergencies. I have seen on the weekends a long line of cars parked along the highway shoulder. This is dangerous and can cause an accident due to the rubbernecking of other drivers. The statue should be fenced to prevent this. Because it is not fenced, keep an eye on children as they could wander off toward the highway. All in all it is a nice place to visit so if you have a few minutes it is worth a stop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeland, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History Buff For Republic of Texas”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Impressive reminder of the great and honorable men responsible for the foundation of our Republic.
I recommend the home that Sam Houston inhabited and the area surrounding the campus of Sam Houston University, (my alma mater).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Big Sam”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I think the best thing about this enormous statue of ol Sam Houston is that when on I45 going north or south he comes into sight way ahead of time before you even see an exit. Once there its amazing on how large this statue actually is. Not the greatest thing in Texas by far but well worth the quick stop to check him out

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Houston Statue also viewed

 

Been to Sam Houston Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing