We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and pleasant”
Review of Humble City Cafe

Humble City Cafe
Ranked #6 of 299 Restaurants in Humble
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Laid back and pleasant”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very nostalgic... Takes one back to slower paced times, when everything and everyone weren't in such a hurry. The food was really good, the service was okay...Warm rolls and cornbread to start you off and a variety of dishes to eat. Try the stewed apples as a side dish (red hot cinnamon candied apples)... very different.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    66
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big country breakfast!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very friendly staff, good food and great atmosphere. You don't feel rushed like some places...you can actually sit back and enjoy your coffee!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marijane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great experience in the old home town”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I can heartily recommend the Humble City Cafe. It is not fancy but the food is really great, the employees know what it means to provide true customer serice and the interior furnishings make you feel like you are in a reak small town dining adventure. Usually the owner is there and will provide you with a neat song upon request.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure and Good Value”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This time we were in a group of 17 on a history tour. This slowed service a bit at the start, but the staff quickly recovered and personal attention did not lack. The cornbread and rolls are always a treat. Good food and atmosphere that takes you back to a time when people didn't think of fast food places because they can't compare to the quality and value of this type of establishment. Never been disappointed; always glad we went there. A very special treat you may encounter at times is to be seranaded by a person with a very special relationship to the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingwood_TXAlR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality Comfort Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

During a brief period living in Humble, I ate here a few times based on recommendations by some locals and I was very happy to find a good old fashioned comfort food joint, being surrounded by so many chain restaurants. I believe it's only open for breakfast and lunch, but that was good enough for me. I usually had the breakfast there and was always satisfied with the quality of food and delivery of service. This place was usually packed when I visited, but I was always seated quickly and treated kindly by the staff. On one occasion, I came after they had stopped serving breakfast, so I decided to try their lunch menu. While I was looking over the menu, my waitress (I think her name was Ann Marie) asked if I liked corn bread. I said yes, so she brought me out a complimentary pan of fresh baked corn bread while I waited for my meal. Very friendly service! Having tried many restaurants during my brief residence in Humble, this place was probably my favorite. Highly recommended for a great "home cooked" breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humble City Cafe also viewed

Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Humble City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing